Quiet Time

February 9, 2009 at 2:30 pm 3 comments

I figure I had better say something. I have been quiet as of late!

I really have not had much to say. Even now I seem to be at a loss for words. It is not that I haven’t been busy, just not in a mood to share.

I have been following Chris’s lead and have been studying Wicca for about a month now. I really am enjoying it. I have attended several Wiccan services and really like the people that attend. I feel that I really fit in here, and it gets me out of the house and meeting new people. I also like the fact that the services are usually in the evening and not early Sunday morning. And the services let you participate and not just have someone preaching at you. And the services are inclusive, and Wiccans really welcome everyone.

The other thing I like about Wicca is that you can tailor it to your needs. There isn’t any dogma attached to it. There are some bacis principles to follow, but how you go about following them is entirely up to you. You can believe some of it, most of it, or all of it. And mostly, you have to follow the principle of harming none. But I really like going to the services and I really like hanging out in the New Age store. There is a great little new age store here in Baltimore called Mystickal Voyage and it has a coffee and tea shop. There is another store I like called Turning Circle and the people there are equally nice.

I have joined a monthly Tarot card reading group and have purchased some new decks to work with. I seem to have misplaced my decks from high school. I do believe they are in the house somewhere, but have no idea where they could be. So, I have to break in a new deck and relearn everything because I can’t remember anything about them.

But, everything is a learning process and I really hope to be able to continue to learn and grow and meet new people.

Anyway. That is all for today!

 

PS.  This morning I upended my carry bag and got rid of all the broken pens and dust bunnies at the bottom.  I was collecting quite a bit of fuzz down there.     Now my bag is in tip-top shape! 

PSS.  For my future I drew the nine  of swords.  This card seems to predict misery.    I wonder what is going to happen?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

My Bloody Valentine! Tarot Decks.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogiji  |  February 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    I hope that it works out for you, Hon!

    P.S. You might find this site interesting:

    http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogiji  |  February 9, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Another interpretation of the card:

    Nine of Swords

    A man wakes from a nightmare, nine swords on the wall. It can be a good thing to find what you seek, except when it comes to ideas, words or problems. Find too many of them and they will overwhelm you. We all know this card, it is the one where we wake up at night and go over our troubles, problems, worries, thoughts, what we said, what others said. The Querent must be told that while their problems may be real, they’re blowing them out of proportion, making them worse, nightmarish. They are spending too many sleepless nights alone and awake with these words, ideas, problems. What they are really seeking is to wake from this bad dream – which they can do by realizing that it is a bad dream – most of it is in their head.

    Reply
  • 3. urspo  |  February 10, 2009 at 5:29 am

    I am a long time tarot reader and deck collector
    I would be intrigued to hear what are you decks.
    I’ll show you mine if you show me yours!

    Remember, there are no good or bad cards, merely cards with positive and negative attributes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

