Grieving

March 10, 2009 at 4:33 pm 8 comments

Just a note to all of you that read the blog.

My sister passed away last Sunday night. She had a heart attack, and I think it might have been complications with the medicine and the chemo that she was on.

I had just visited her on President’s day week, came back for a week and then she was gone. I had to travel back up to Pennsylvania to be with my mom this week and came back to Baltimore yesterday.

I know that most of you have known about the love/hate relationship I had with my sister. She was a very hard woman to love and she did a lot of things to the family that made me really mad. But deep down she still was my sister and I loved her.

She was only 39.

And she was much better in the last two years since she got sick. She had been nicer to me and my mom and a little less unstable. But I was not expecting this.

It still hasn’t really sunk in. I feel like I am standing on shaky ground and the cracks are beginning to form and if I am not careful it might just swallow me down.

But I am making an appointment with my psychiatrist today and my therapist too.

that is all for now. Thank you my friends

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

My sister is home. How Angela Lansbury is going to make me feel a whole lot better.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. javabear  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    ((((((Big hugs))))))
    I am sorry for your loss, honey.

    Reply
  • 2. Coco  |  March 11, 2009 at 12:33 am

    i am so sorry for your pain…
    it’s good that you have your appointments-
    it will help tremendously!
    greiving is PAINFUL,
    but it also makes us look at “life”,
    and forces us to make changes (preferably for the “good”)…
    it’s not easy-
    but you have friends that care deeply for you.
    HUGS my friend
    Blessings

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:25 am

    My deepest sympathies, Doug. Take care of yourself. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. Sparky  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:26 am

    Oh, Doug …

    Reply
  • 5. tigeryogiji  |  March 11, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    ((HUGS)) :(

    Reply
  • 6. urspo  |  March 12, 2009 at 4:50 am

    terrible sad news.
    I am glad to know you have support, and bloggers too sending you comfort.

    Reply
  • 7. johnmichael  |  March 14, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  May 13, 2009 at 1:04 am

    Doug,
    I am sorry I haven’t read your blog in such a long time. I am terribly sorry to learn about your sister. Big hugs from Texas, sweetheart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

