How Angela Lansbury is going to make me feel a whole lot better.

March 11, 2009 at 9:39 pm 9 comments

This morning I was home, looking at the Interwebs and thinking of things that would make me feel better.

I happened to visit one of my favorite websites , Playbill.com,  and decided to check up on the happenings in NYC.

Lo and behold,  I remembered that Angela Lansbury is currently on Broadway, starring in Noel Coward’s Blithe Spirit.

Angela Lansbury cheers me up.

Noel Coward also cheers me up.  How could he not?  He was a master at his craft.

And the fact that Christine Ebersole and Rupert Everett were also in Blithe Spirit cheered me up even more.

I was so happy that I almost fell off the sofa.

And, when I checked the site that offered Broadway discounts,  I discovered that I could get these tickets at a reasonable price.

I decided to buy the tickets and tell Chris later.  After all, tickets are non-refundable, so once I had them I had to use them.  I can’t turn them back in.  And  I figured that in my delicate state of mind, he would have to agree that seeing Angela Lansbury is the only thing that I can do.

And, with all the shows closing on Broadway due to the recession, I HAVE to do my part.   We all have to pick a cause and stick with it and my cause is throwing my money at Broadway shows because they are what truly makes me happy in this life.

And so we are going to go on April 4th.  I just have to arrange for the bus trip.   This gives me a month of something fabulous to look forward to, and I should be looking forward and not looking back.

I know I will still have my hard times and my sad times but I am not going to let it prevent me from living.

Oddly enough, the show we are seeing is about a ghost. 

Thanks for all your kind words and sticking with me in the tough times.  You mean a lot to me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Grieving

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coco  |  March 12, 2009 at 3:16 am

    i’m glad that in the midst of greiving…you are LIVING!! HUGS!!
    my thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  March 12, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I like Blithe Spirit a great deal. please give love and kisses to Daphne.

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogiji  |  March 12, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    “If art doesn’t make us better, then what on earth is it for…”- Alice Walker

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. Sparky  |  March 12, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    CONGRATS!

    I really hope you have a wonderful time.

    Reply
  • 5. johnmichael  |  March 14, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Have a good time!

    Reply
  • 6. mari  |  April 6, 2009 at 9:27 am

    I hope you will tell us how you enjoyed the play! Angela Lansbury is one of my favorites.

    Reply
  • 7. coco  |  April 14, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    So how was the outing? How are you doing?
    Hugs & Blessings

    Reply
  • 8. Urspo  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I am on my way to NYC this weekend; and thanks to you I may be seeing this show this evening; I would not have heard of it otherwise.

    Reply
  • 9. Ashley  |  August 17, 2009 at 12:11 am

    Come back, Doug. I miss you….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

