Rocket To Venus

February 3, 2007 at 12:34 am 3 comments

As I write this, I am brewing some decaf.  Chris has put Sudden Impact with Clint Eastwood in the DVD player and I am trying to block it out.  It is quite hard to do!

Last night we tried a new restaurant here in Hampden. It is called “Rocket To Venus” and it is literally across the street (well, at the other end of the block).  It has been getting good reviews in the papers and I thought we could give it a go.

The one problem that I immediately saw was that the interior is so dim, I thought they were closed.  We almost went somewhere else, but as we drove by I thought I saw people inside, and luckily we turned around and headed back.  The restaurant is set up rather nicely. It has these huge retro looking booths and plenty of small tables for two. And a huge horseshoe bar right in the center. 

Chris got a Cosmo and thought it was very good.  I choose not to spend the money on a mixed drink because I would rather get soup or an appetizer.  I chose the soup. It was a thick mushroom bread soup and it was wonderful.  (It is not on the menu, but rather a special of the day.)

Chris got four little “wimpy” cheeseburgers and they looked awesome. They also had fresh cut fries seasoned with Indian spices, unusual and good. I snuck a few fries off the plate!

I had a big caesar salad with grilled salmon.  Trying to be healthier I know, but it was well worth it. The salmon was a good size and wonderfully seasoned, and the homemade caesar dressing was really good.

The restaraunt allows smoking later in the evening, but during the dinner hours (5-9) there is no smoking and I was glad for that. The staff dresses entirely in black and they were very friendly.  Most of the lighting in the room comes from the candles on the table. (and some other dim lighting) but it makes for a romantic evening. Maybe we can head there for  Valentine’s day?

Oh, and Tiger Yogi could go, they had several veggie dishes including a sloppy Jo-Fu, which I would love to try.  All in all a great night and a neat new place. Welcome to the neighborhood!

Entry filed under: Resteraunts.

Hello World! Murder in Three Acts

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  February 3, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Hey Doug! Welcome to WordPress! I didn’t know the birds and bees did this. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. sortedlives  |  February 3, 2007 at 4:56 am

    Welcome to the neighborhood. Just stay away from that pesky neighbor MiKell… That girl is a big ‘ol mess and doesn’t keep her house tidy!

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogi  |  February 3, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Welcome Home Dahling!!!

    Make the reservations, I’m on my way!!! (Just kidding (for now…))

    P.S. If you ever get tire of that library, you could become a restaurant critic! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

