Murder in Three Acts

February 4, 2007 at 12:41 am 3 comments

Today was quiet.  I was able to read a good deal. In fact, I started and finished a book in one day!

The book was Three Act Tragedy by Agatha Christie. I know what you are thinking. Is this guy ever going to get off the Christie Kick? Probably not. She was a favorite in high school. And she still is a favorite now.

I remember the English class booklist on which she appeared.  I think the first one I read was Death on the Nile.  My English teacher liked me, and he let me pick out novels that were not on the list.  That was how I was able to read N or M? I really must read that one again. I remember I really liked it.

Anyway, back to Three Act Tragedy. It was written in 1934 so is relatively early.  It features Hercule Poirot as the detective and it is amazing how little he appears in the novel.  He pops up, gets other characters to go and do interviews for him, and then makes sense out of what they find.

A member of the clergy, Mr. Babbington, dies suddenly at a cocktail party.  Was his death a natural occurance? Was it murder? You will have to read the book to find out!

I didn’t figure out who did it.  But I had some of the how did it solved. It uses some familiar Christie tricks you might know if you are familiar  with her books.  All in all it was a light diversion.  I like many of her others so much more.  She probably got better with age!

Chris and I took a walk today when I got home from work and went out for Mexican food. Now we are watching Magnum Force with Clint Eastwood.  I think Chris is on a Dirty Harry kick.  But I like them better than the Westerns.

Have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: books.

Rocket To Venus A Date With Rebecca

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  February 4, 2007 at 4:11 am

    Wow, I watched Magnum Force when I was like 12. The scene I remember is when the people are doing drugs and the guy is lying naked on a bed or something. When the cops break in and shoot him, you get full backal nudity. That’s how I remember it, anyway. And that’s pretty much all I remember of it. hehe.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  February 4, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    I think that I saw the first Dirty Harry, and that was enough…

    Reply
  • 3. Ems in London  |  February 4, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    I don’t think I have ever read an Agatha Christie which is quite a surprising admission. I think I shall have to borrow a couple from the library.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

