A Date With Rebecca

February 5, 2007 at 12:27 am 6 comments

Joan Fontaine

I have been on a Hitchcock kick this weekend. Last night we watched Notorious with Ingrid Bergman, and tonight, Rebbecca with Joan Fontaine.  I really love Rebbecca. I think it is a fabulous story and the film really captures the drama.  It is a perfect film for a chilly Baltimore night. 

And chilly it is! Chris and I took a walk and his ears got really cold (he did not wear a hat).  Chris does not deal with cold well, but he soldiered on in order to support my walking.  We walked up the the drug store to refill a prescription and it was well over a mile and a half.   Then we went home for me to cook. 

I made Pasta ala Vodka tonight.  Chris and I never have booze around the house, we never entertain and most of our friends are non drinkers, so we stopped for vodka last night. We ended up with a tiny bottle because I really only needed a half a cup. I guess I could make one cocktail with the rest!   But dinner turned out fabulously (well, until I dropped the baquette on the floor).  But otherwise it went without a hitch. I am becoming quite the little domestic!

Anyway, I had better get back to the movie. I also have a new Doctor Who novel I would like to start, where the Tardis goes to ancient Rome.  It is a tenth Doctor and Rose adventure. I hope it is good!   See you tomorrow!

Entry filed under: films.

Murder in Three Acts Manic Monday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  February 5, 2007 at 2:10 am

    As cold as it is, it sounds like a warm, wonderful night. The only time I ever think about muffs is when my ears are cold. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. kevKev in NZ in NZ  |  February 5, 2007 at 6:00 am

    Doug
    How’s life on the new wordpress? I look forward to reading your new site.

    I hope you have had a great weekend.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 3. sortedlives  |  February 5, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Sounds like a great way to spend an evening. I hope you have a great week. Take care

    Reply
  • 4. Morgen  |  February 5, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Hi there – love the lavender theme you’ve got going now.
    Rebecca is one of my favorite Hitchcocks. Makes me want to curl up and watch black & white movies now.
    I know what you mean about cold — today, we’re snowed in and it’s five degrees today — going down to five below tonight! I am so over winter and ready for spring!

    Reply
  • 5. Spider  |  February 5, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    OMG – you got two of my all time favorites… Notorious is wonderful but Rebecca… what an outstanding movie… you know that Rebecca was Joan Fontaines consolation prize for not getting to play Melonie in Gone With the Wind… since her sister got GWTW, she got Rebecca… or so I have been told.

    BTW – I am LOVING the new site – it is really great – and don’t you LOVE wordpress…

    Reply
  • 6. taryn rose sale  |  June 7, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    taryn rose sale

    This site contains relevant information about taryn rose sale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

