Manic Monday

February 5, 2007 at 12:35 pm 4 comments

Manic Banner

Thanks Morgen for including me in the Manic Madness!  Please head over to It’s a Blog Eat Blog World for more Manic Monday!

The word of the morning is drifting.

Drifting reminds me of water and how much I really like swimming.  Well, not swimming exactly. Drifting.  I love to get an inflatable raft, trail my hands through the water and just drift.

When I lived in Memphis, I had a really nice apartment.  I was on the ground floor and the balcony looked right out to the pool.  The pool was lovely.  And the weather in Memphis was always nice so you had a long season to use the pool.  I had a great big inflatable raft.

I remember the first time I tried reading a Patricia Cornwell. I don’t really care for her, but I thought I should try her out because she was so popular.  I pulled out my inflatable raft, got it anchored to the side of the pool, managed to get on it and grab my paperback novel.  Needless to say, while I was drifting along, I managed to jostle my hands and the paperback novel fell right into the pool.

The pages absorbed the water, and the novel began to increase in size.  Luckily for me, it was not a library book but one that I had purchased. I would have hated to explain to the library that I dropped the book in the pool!

The last time I spent drifting in the water was when I visited Antigua on the cruise.  It was fabulous. The beach was soft and sandy and the water just lovely.  I went out and floated around a bit, and really enjoyed myself.  It was the day that I got a horrible sunburn, and I am not going to repeat that performance, let me tell you.   But I have always been a fan of water and I suppose I always will be.

Thanks again to Morgen for allowing me to drift along with this post!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Date With Rebecca Dr. Who…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Morgen  |  February 5, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Hello! Thank you for participating in Manic Monday!
    Everyone is welcome to drift into the fun.
    I like the older novels of Patricia Cornwell, but in the same genre I enjoy Kathy Reichs books even better!
    And drifting on a raft in the pool sounds great right now — that’s right up my alley! Growing up, when I would get dragged to the waterpark as a teenager, I would go to the innertube river and just drift around all day while everyone else did the wave pool and the loopy tunnel slides.
    Excellent “drifting” post!

    Reply
  • 2. Sanni  |  February 5, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Aaaaaaah… drifting in the water. I love it. I haven´t been to Antigua yet, but I hope to visit someday. Didn´t let a book swim, either and hope not to do it =)

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  February 6, 2007 at 2:40 am

    I have heard that if you microwave a book while it’s wet it will “cook” the water out and save the book. Never tried it, though.

    Reply
  • 4. autumn zephyr  |  February 6, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    Hi! I read many of the same blogs you do and saw your post about white tea and ginger. I can supply it! I make candles, lotions, soaps , bath oils, etc in that scent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

