Dr. Who…

February 7, 2007 at 12:47 am 4 comments

Chilly days here in Baltimore. I am sure it is nothing like some of the Northern states, but it is chilly enough to keep me indoors.  And we were having a heating problem at the office and yesterday was freezing.  I like to wear short sleeved polos to work and I had a severe chill.  And I could not walk for two days for fear of frost bitten fingers.

 So, I have been reading two enchanting little Dr. Who novels featuring the Tenth Doctor and Rose Tyler.   The two I picked are called “Stone Rose” and the “Feast of the Drowned”.  I finished Stone Rose and it was slow to get started but really picked up steam and had a really interesting ending.

Feast of the Drowned is just plain creepy. There is a battleship that has sunk and has been cut to pieces.  And, the dead sailors are appearing to members of their families asking for help. They are also mentioning some kind of feast.  Of course, the military are involved and are protecting the pieces of the ship, making it almost impossible for the Doctor to sweep in and discover what is going on.  But, if you know anything about the Doctor, you know that all will be well and he will solve the case. The Feast of the Drowned is by Stephen Cole and is available from BBC books and you can get them on Amazon.com for about ten bucks each.   I am definitely picking up a couple more titles when Chris gets paid tomorrow.

The novels are written for a younger audience, but anyone who likes the Doctor Who series and really wants a good adventure can’t go wrong.  The books are about 250 pages each and I have been able to read the entire novel in about a day and a half and still get other things done!

The night is winding down and I am getting sleepy. Chris brought along a decaf and a donut to work to keep me perked up for my last hour or so, and then home to the warmth of my blankets and a good DVD.

How is everyone out there in blogland taking the chill? My mother said she had four feet of snow in Northern PA.  I hope you are all keeping warm and making sure you wear your mittens, a scarf and a hat.  I don’t want any of you getting sick!

Entry filed under: books.

Manic Monday Gaslighting

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  February 7, 2007 at 3:17 am

    It’s been soooo cold down here! Our high temp only got to about 65! Brrrr….LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Debbi  |  February 7, 2007 at 8:01 am

    It’s been below zero for over a week now. The wind chill down around -30. Right now it is -6 and that is normal temps.
    We did manage to get about eight inches of snow today, and I’m hoping it doesn’t start to blow, cause we will be snowed in.

    I read some of the Dr Who books back in the late 70’s. I liked them. I’ll have to take a look the next time I’m at Borders.

    Reply
  • 3. Tony  |  February 7, 2007 at 11:33 am

    WISH I WAS MORE OF A LITERARY PERSON BUT, ALAS, I AM NOT. AS FOR HTE WEATHER, HOW ABOUT A BOT OF A HEAT SPELL HERE IN
    SOCAL? IT’S BEEN IN THE LOW TO MID 70’S HERE THE LAST TWO DAYS. WE NEED RAIN THOUGH REAL BAD!

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  February 7, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Exactly how cold is Baltimore? 20 degree above zero? 30?

    The past three mornings I have gotten up and looked at the outdoor thermometer and it was at TWO degrees above zero! And that’s not counting the windchill factor!

    So you just stop that complaining little missy, or I’ll come down there and slap you silly!!! ;P

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars