Gaslighting

February 8, 2007 at 11:46 pm 3 comments

Last night we watched Gaslight with Ingrid Bergman.  I honestly don’t think I have ever seen this movie, although I seemed to know all about it.  It was a tremendous film and Charles Boyer was really creepy.

The film takes place in what appears to be the late eighteen hundreds, and the title comes from the gas lighting that the houses have installed.  (Remember, gas lighting? They had that in Meet Me in St. Louis as well.)  Ingrid Bergman is the niece of a world famous singer who has been murdered, causing Ingrid to live in Italy. There she meets Charles Boyer and falls in love and marries him.   Charles Boyer wants nothing more than to live in a house on a square in London and convinces Ingrid to move into the house that her famous aunt has left her.  This is also the house in which the aunt has died.  

Soon you become aware that Charles is trying to drive poor Ingrid over the edge.  He begins to tell her that she is losing things and sure enough, things are getting misplaced.  Then he accuses her of taking pictures from the walls and hiding them and sure enough, the pictures are found tucked behind statues.  And poor Ingrid begins to go ever slightly more mad…

I don’t want to give away the ending, but if you want a solid suspense thriller and don’t mind black and white films, give this one a try. It is on Netflix! 

Tonight or tomorrow I am going to watch the original Diabolique.  I haven’t seen that one in an age.  I remember really liking it though. I  do know that they attempted a remake with Sharon Stone in the nineties. I don’t think it was near as good.  I never bothered to see it because the original is so good. You just have to be willing to read French subtitles (unless you are lucky enough to speak French, then you can turn the subtitles off.)

Other than that I am feeling just a little bit Blah.  Yesterday I did not feel like posting or reading anybodies posts. I just felt like sitting. And I am sure it is not as cold as Tiger Yogi (or my mom) is facing, but it is a little cold for me, and it makes me quite inactive.

At least I have the coffee to keep me warm!  (and Chris. He does a good job as well.)  Anyway. Hope you are all having a grand Thursday and I am sure I will be back with more merriment tomorrow!

Entry filed under: films.

Dr. Who… Gaslighting (part II)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spider  |  February 9, 2007 at 3:44 am

    “Gaslight” is one of my favorite movies – and I LOVE Ingrid Bergman…

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  February 9, 2007 at 3:55 am

    That’s more like it. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  February 10, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Awww…you and Chris keep each other warm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

