Gaslighting (part II)

February 10, 2007 at 3:17 am 4 comments

Tonight is causing me more problems. My wireless connection at home is not working, so I am now attached to the Internet via Chris’s cell phone. And it is quite slow.  So I can’t load anything and am barely able to get wordpress up to do my nightly post.

I am still thinking about Gaslight.  Well, gas lights anyhow.

When I grew up in White Oak Pa, we had a little three bedroom house that had a nice front yard and a driveway. At the end of the drive was a lamp post.

It was a tall, black post with a traditional looking top, and as far as I can remember, it was lit by natural gas.  I am not sure how it was lit, or what you had to do to light it but I remember that we often had the light aglow at the end of the drive.

Then 1976 happened and we had a gas crisis. I remember that Carter was in office, and the gas prices skyrocketed and we would have to get in long lines to get our gas.  I also remember my father saying that they made an advisory and we should not use things like our natural gas lamp post.

So we stopped.

And, being the conscientious man that my father was, even after the crisis we never lit the lamp post again. My parents always used to tut tut the neighbors up the street that kept theirs lit among the chaos.

Another memory I had of the post was one of our frequent snowy days in winter. I was digging a tunnel under the snow in the front yard, burrowing like a little mole, and became quite disoriented.  I finally poked my head out of the snow, stood up, turned around and walked smack into the post, breaking my glasses.

This was but one occasion in which said glasses were broken. I was hopeless.  Except for the time I got hit in the face by a stray basketball. That was not my fault.  That was an act of providence.

Anyway. More memories are on the way!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gaslighting Grace Kelly

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  February 10, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Hopefully you never stuck your tongue to the poll in the winter…

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  February 10, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    You weren’t hopeless, cuz you’re still here!

    Reply
  • 3. kevKev in NZ in NZ  |  February 11, 2007 at 12:36 am

    I hope you get your wireless back soon. Thank goodness for cellphones.

    Wishing you a great weekend.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 4. Spider  |  February 12, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I love memories – keep them coming…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

