Chicken Vindaloo

February 13, 2007 at 12:58 am 4 comments

manicbanner1.jpg

SPIKE!

spike (verb)
a: to add an alcoholic beverage to (a drink) [spiked the punch]
b: to add a foreign substance to [spike the coffee with tranquilizers]
c: to add something highly reactive [as a radioactive tracer] to
d: to add vitality, zest, or spice to [spike the broth with peppers]
e: to liven [spiked the speech with humor]

 Today’s manic Monday word is SPIKE.   And I certainly felt that last night, when someone spiked my chicken vindaloo with some horribly spicy seasoning.

Usually when I go out for Indian, I tell them I want my dishes mild.  I am somewhat of a food wimp.  I used to be able to eat really highly spiced dishes, but lately I tend to like things that I can actually taste.

We go to a nice little  restaurant called Alissa’s.  It is a wide variety of foods, mostly American and Italian with really good pizza.  But an Indian gentleman has taken over the restaurant and has added some great Indian dishes to the menu.

I have tried several of them, but since the restaurant is not entirely Indian, I usually don’t tell them how I like it to be spiced.  Well, after about three forkfulls of the stuff my head was sweating and my eyes were tearing up.  Chris thought I was depressed and kept asking what was wrong.  I kept eating and crying and eating and sweating.  And the food had a nice flavor, truly. It was just too darn hot!

Luckily I had the tandoori roti bread with the tamarind sauce and that really helped cool things down.

So beware! They might spike your dinner with any number of hot spices!

I am not sure if this really fits the required word but I tried to use the word and still talk about what I wanted to talk about anyway. Not a bad deal for a Manic Monday.  Now I can go alert Morgen that I am still in the game and add my link to the mighty. Rock on!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Grace Kelly Half Day

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rian  |  February 13, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Too spicy is when you feel burning sensations on your fingers by just touching it. My dad used to eat that spicy.

    I like aromatic food with bold taste, I mean many herbs and stuff, but I’m not much into spicy hot taste.

    Reply
  • 2. Morgen  |  February 13, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    That was a great “spiked” post!
    thanks for participating in manic mondays!

    now I’m craving a curry takeout…

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogi  |  February 13, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    “Rock on!”

    You Rebel you… 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  February 15, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Wow, that food sounds yummy, spiked or not! Now I’m in the mood for Indian food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

