Half Day

February 14, 2007 at 1:43 am 6 comments

Predicted snow. More like a fizzle.

But, my afternoon meeting was cancelled so I decided that since I was not required to be anywhere specific, I would take a half day off and hibernate.

It was a perfect day for hibernation.  It was dreary and cold and drizzly and I think the drizzle is freezing on the roads as we speak.  So I managed to nest in a great big blanket and grabbed a book, kept my dog at my side and a cat on my lap and was quite happy.

I am reading this new novel called Germ, in which a virus is spread throughout the world, and this specific virus uses strands of DNA to kill specific people.  If you are not a DNA match, you catch a cold. If your DNA matches, you liquefy.  It is quite thrilling thus far, and I would definitely put it in the “thriller” category.  It also involves the CDC and the FBI.  Quite enjoyable.

I set up the crock pot this morning with corned beef, cabbage, potatoes and onion and it was a very St. Patrick’s day meal. I will have to make it again in March.  It turned out quite well and was easy to do, and clean up was a breeze because it was cooked in one large pot.  Yay!

Other than that, not much happening on a Tuesday.  Just making it through the week. We have a three day weekend coming up with President’s Day, and I have a party to go to on Saturday night.  So, all in all it should be a great weekend.  Hope your weeks are shaping up!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chicken Vindaloo Black Ice and Starbucks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sortedlives  |  February 14, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Enjoy the day, the book and the wonderful warm meal you are cooking. A great way to spend a shitty day.

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  February 14, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Hi Doug! My week is shaping up to be a marathon. Already, it’s after 7:00 AM and I am perusing blogs in my pajamas, knowing I still need to wash my hair and get to work. Being late is a given at this point.

    Save me some cabbage and potatoes!!

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogi  |  February 14, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Lucky you! I’m stuck at work (which is as dead as a TOMB) until 5PM and then I get to drive home and shovel! Woo-Hoo! Would someone tell me why I’m living in New England again? 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Tony  |  February 14, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day. Stay warm. I hear that a good portion of the East Coast is running cold, wet, and or snowy!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Rian  |  February 14, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    I would love to have winter outside, and a nice book and a warm blanket with me inside. I so envy you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Doug  |  February 15, 2007 at 4:38 am

    Sounds like a near-perfect day.

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Give Chris a hug for me, and take one for yourself. 🙂 *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

