Frozen Solid

February 15, 2007 at 5:26 pm 7 comments

Well, I went out at 11:45 to get my car ready to take me to work. The car is frozen in place.  First, I had to de-ice the top half of the car and I know I am not very strong but this was ridiculous. I scraped and scraped and scraped. Finally, my scraper shattered.  So I gave up.

I came inside and decided that I was not going to let the car beat me. So I went back out and got my umbrella. This is a large golf style umbrella with a long metal nose.  I used that to chunk out the remaining bits of ice and I finally got the windshield wipers working. 

Then I started the car and tried to move it. It won’t go forward, or back. It is frozen in place.  So I came back inside, ready to give up again.  And I thought that I was NOT going to let the car beat me.

So I went into the laundry room and got a hoe.  I went back out and started to madly chunk at the ice with the hoe (kind of like Joan Crawford with the axe in Mommie Dearest).   Well, after a bit of chunking the end of the hoe broke off.  But I did not give up. I used the handle of the hoe to start to poke and dig and move the ice. I hammered and hammered and hammered. I got in the car. Nothing. Not forward and not back.  And I could smell the tires burning. I went out and poked some more at the ice. Couldn’t get the car to budge. So now I am trapped at home until Chris can get here and maybe drive me to work at five. And I have to take a half day of personal time because I can’t get the car to move. Sigh. The car beat me. It really did.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Black Ice and Starbucks New Shoes

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  February 15, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    I would rather deal with two feet of snow than with a quarter inch of ice…

    That being said, have you tried throwing down sand or even kitty litter to get some traction?

    Good luck Hon! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Debbi  |  February 15, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I agree with Tigeryogi. I hate ice, and black ice is horrible.
    I inched my way to work yesterday after having to be dug out of our driveway by the neighbors tractor.
    And on the way it was nothing but a sheet of ice. I have four wheel drive on my blazer and I still was sliding here and there.

    Mentioing black ice, a bunch of years ago hubby hit a small patch of it and slammed his little s10 truck into a pole. Totaled the truck. He was fine, but the truck was history. Poor truck…

    Reply
  • 3. Spider  |  February 16, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Mother Nature can be a real bitch can’t she…

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  February 16, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Ahhh… a Texas winter! You guys usually get snow. We usually get the crazy 4 inches of ice every time.

    Of course, when our cars are frozen to our driveways as you describe in your post, the entire city shuts down. We got three days off of work this time last month due to an ice storm.

    Stay warm and be safe!

    Reply
  • 5. Coco  |  February 16, 2007 at 3:19 am

    I’m glad I live in California : )
    Stay safe and warm!!

    Hugs
    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. Sparky  |  February 16, 2007 at 6:08 am

    Public transportation is a wondrous thing.

    Reply
  • 7. coolbuddha  |  February 18, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    They don’t make hoes like they use to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

