Adventures with Shutterfly and Book Meme

February 19, 2007 at 2:12 am 2 comments

Happy Sunday! Day two of my three day weekend.  I get to sleep in tomorrow and do nothing, just like I did today. Not bad.

Tonight I am uploading my cruise pictures onto Shutterfly and will have an on-line album.  I have many pictures and it is going to take quite a long time.  I think that I can order prints of the pictures and take them with me the next time I visit my mother.  Then she can see the wonderful snaps I took!

I also have a Book Meme that Tiger Yogi wanted me to do.  So I am going to play along.  Here are the rules:

1) Take the book nearest to you.

2) Turn to page 123.

3) Copy the 5th, 6th and 7th sentence from that page.

So here goes.  The book is called Germ by Robert Liparulo.  It is a good book that I just finished. 

“The dome light was on and he was reading a paperback. Smart, she thought. Destroy your night vision and make it easy for perps to see you before you see them.”

I am not going to tag anybody, but if you want to play along, please do.

Germ was a pretty good book. If you like thrillers along the lines of James Patterson or Harlan Coben, you couldn’t go wrong. The Germ in question is a form of the Ebola virus that can target specific strands of DNA.  Just like being hit with a bullet, if you catch the virus and your DNA matches, you die.  If you don’t match, you get a common cold. But then you can still spread the germ.

Of course, there is a leak as a scientist escapes from the secret compound with data that can’t get into the wrong hands (or the right hands, as it were) and he tries to get to the CDC before his time runs out.  The FBI has agents in the CDC and they try to get the scientist back safely, but to no avail.  Two sets of assassins are on their tail, and will stop at nothing to get the data back from the FBI.

What follows is a cat and mouse game as the FBI takes the data and tries to find the main villain, and the assassins keep regrouping and turning up to fight the FBI.  Guns are blazing. Many guns, many blazes.  The suspense is nearly heart stopping and the book never really lets you up for air.   It is a wild ride with fights, frights and technological weaponry and even a gauntlet. 

Not normally my style of book but a good quick read and one that is being made into a major motion picture, I think even before the book was finished.  So you get a book meme and a review. Not bad for a Sunday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Shoes Happy Birthday Morgen!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  February 19, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I think I read too many books about pandemics (the Ludlum Covert One series, for example), so I am going to pass on Germ. Seems interesting, though…

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  February 19, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Enjoy your day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

