Celtic Dreams

February 25, 2007 at 5:49 pm 4 comments

 Here are Meav and Hayley Westenra singing “The Last Rose of Summer” from the Celtic Woman tour. It is just so lovely.  I don’t believe I was able to see Hayley on this particular tour, she is the newest Celtic Woman and the concert only had the original four.

But it was lovely.  I don’t know if I will ever get to see an Angel. But if I ever do, I know that she will sing like this.

I had a marvelous time!

Two amusing incidents happened at the concert.  There was a woman behind us who traded seats with a young woman so that the young woman could sit with her friend. This woman moved about two rows back.  After the intermission, she decided to move to her original seat, as one of her friends decided to leave because she was tired.  Now she is directly behind me.  She said she really didn’t enjoy the other seat, and that “there were two lesbians there and I did not care for that at all.”   It was all I could do not to turn around and say “Well, now you have the gay men in front of you.” But I held my tongue.  This is what happens when you let anybody in to cultural events.

 Then, on the way home, Chris in all his wisdom says to me, “I am really glad the chubby one was there. I really liked her voice.”  I said to him, “Chris, you really shouldn’t say things like that.  A person should not be reduced to his or her weight. It isn’t nice.”  He said “I didn’t mean anything by it, and she was chubby”. I told him “you could have said the woman with the long blonde hair. I would have known who you meant.”  I am not sure if this sunk in or not, but being a chubby person myself, I don’t like being referred to as chubby, or even worse, Big Guy.

Anyway.  I am just lounging around today. I wish the Celtic Woman could come over. I find them very soothing. I just want them to sing to me as I fall asleep… and dream good dreams…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

No News is Good News Quiet Evening

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  February 25, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    “She said she really didn’t enjoy the other seat, and that “there were two lesbians there and I did not care for that at all.” It was all I could do not to turn around and say “Well, now you have the gay men in front of you.” ”

    Oh, you so SHOULD HAVE!!!! 🙂

    Chris and Hubby would SO get along! Hubby is always saying things about people off the top of his head too. (He gets it from his mother…)

    Reply
  • 2. sortedlives  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Glad you enjoyed the show. There is nothing like a good concert with soothing voices. I would love to have them sing me to sleep, too!!

    Hope all is well

    Reply
  • 3. Rian  |  February 26, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Wow, the music is beautiful. I haven’t heard it before, but it sounds very nice.

    Oh, and you should have said your sentence with the gay man in front of her. That is hilarious!

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  February 27, 2007 at 4:19 am

    You are so right about the Celtic Women. Their voices are some of the most beautiful sounds on the planet.

    Interesting that Chris might not have understood the issue with his remark. Being gay, I’m sure he knows he’s more than just his sexuality. No single trait should be used as our defining characteristic. The danger of labels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

