Quiet Evening

February 28, 2007 at 1:44 am 4 comments

Just sitting around the house tonight. Chris went to choir practice so I am home alone.  Made a pot of decaf and it tastes pretty good.

This morning I got up and made Chicken Cacciatore in the crock pot.  It was pretty easy. I diced up an onion and a couple of mushrooms and a green pepper, threw in some chicken and other assorted ingredients and it seemed to come out fine.  It tasted a little differently from what I remember as a child.  The recipe called for burgundy wine, and the only thing that I had was a bottle of cabernet, and that might have made a difference.  But the recipe made plenty so I will have dinner for tomorrow night.

Today was pretty busy.   Had a “job shadow” day with a group of middle schoolers who came to see what a librarian does.  Gave them a tour, showed them the inner workings of the library and filled them in on all they needed to know.  Stopped for lunch at First Watch and had a turkey and dill omelet. Could have used more dill, but I liked it. The afternoon had me at a long meeting discussing picture books and that is always fun.

And right now I am a little tired and struggling with what to say on this post. So I will cut it short. Just needed to say something, a fond hello, my little voice calling out.  To anyone that listens.

Good night.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Celtic Dreams Weekend Wonderings

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coco  |  February 28, 2007 at 4:18 am

    I’m listening 🙂
    Hope your Wednesday is better : )

    The chicken cacciatore sounds delicious!!
    I’ve run out of ideas on how to cook chicken,
    AND my husband is NOT into trying “new” recipes : (

    Anyway, sleep well, and rest : )

    Take Care!

    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply
  • 2. Debbi  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Hey Doug.
    Take it easy and just veg. Sometimes we just need to do nothing.

    As for the crock pot…I love mine.

    And I have to admit…I don’t want too…but I will…I watched a few more eps of Semi Homecooking. I’m gonna try her crockpot fahitas. I know I spelt that wrong, but brain has stopped working. They looked good, cept for the half of bottle of beer. Will sub something else for that.

    Reply
  • 3. Tony  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:18 am

    I always chuckle when I see kids popping into the library for the first time. the youngin’s so often have that look of amazement and bewilderment in their eyes. MMM! Chicken Cacciatore!! One of my all-time favs!

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  February 28, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    I always look forward to hearing your “little voice”! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

