Weekend Wonderings

March 1, 2007 at 3:44 pm 5 comments

I have the weekend off and I need ideas on something inexpensive that I can do.  Chris is going to Altoona to visit his mother and I am going to be here alone.

For some reason, when Chris or I go to visit our families, we don’t take each other. In my case, I know that it has all to do with my sister and the fact that Chris can’t stand  her.  With Chris, I think that it might be that Chris’s mother can’t have a dog in the house and I have to stay home and watch Lola.   Not that there is very much to do in Altoona. It is a rather small town in Pennsylvania.

What I am trying NOT to do is get depressed and sleep all weekend. I tend to get really lethargic when I am alone and don’t have very much energy.  I try to think of things to do that don’t involve too much money, because we can’t spend too much right now.  Instead, I get into a panic about leaving the house and end up on the sofa, asleep. I think it has to do with my depression that really never goes completely away, just much more manageable with my meds.

It is a double edged sword.  On one hand I like not being around people. I am comfortable at home and usually rather shy and really enjoy just being here with the pets. On the other hand I think of things that I could be doing and wonder what I am missing out on.  And then I end up wasting the day and feeling like I should have gone out, even for just a little bit.  But I don’t really want to go out to eat alone.  Maybe I will hit the mall and window shop and get something at the food court. And I can take Lola out for a walk.  And I can blog some. Maybe go see a movie?

Anyway, coming up with a list of things to do does no good because then the day in question arrives and I have plans to do all these things but end up staying in and doing nothing.  This was something that bothered my mother about my father.  He would stay home and then seem to complain about never being able to go anywhere, but he would never take the initiative to go anywhere. Maybe I am somewhat like him.  But not entirely.  I manage to try and stay as upbeat as possible.

At the moment, Lola has taken over the couch and looks quite comfortable.  I have to go to work in a few but have enough time for another cup of coffee or two and maybe a bagel.

If you have any ideas for the weekend, let me know. Unless it is macrame. I won’t do that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quiet Evening Weekend Wonderings Part Two

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  March 1, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    If I lived down there Hon, we would go on an adventure!

    How about hitting some museums? Baltimore must be loaded with them!

    Reply
  • 2. coolbuddha  |  March 1, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Yep, know the feeling. How about:
    – sorting your book collection in order of most to least favourite (with a ‘can’t quite decide’ section in the middle);
    – spending at least 5 minutes listening to radio stations you would otherwise never bother with, and voting them out of 10;
    – writing an episode of the Simpsons or a four page outline of what should be in the next James Bond movie;
    – writing a movie review of The Queen by…the Queen?

    Reply
  • 3. kevKev in NZ in NZ  |  March 2, 2007 at 5:02 am

    Doug
    If i was closer i would have spent the day with you!

    As for a few suggestions for the weeknd here they are. Go to the park or to the mall and have lunch in the eating area. Take a packed lunch if you can. I do this and it saves money. Take the opportunity to people watch and you might even eye a few hot men.

    After do a bit of window shopping. Take a look at American Eagle clothing store for me and then check out some latest releases at Borders or Barnes and Noble.

    After take a bus ride to another mall or place that you have not been to recently or not before. You could even get the bus to the airport and watch a few planes. It only needs to be a short bus ride of about 30 minutes but it always helps me relax.

    Later come home and take Lola for a walk.

    Remember to get up at a set time. Either 9am or 10am and then dont set any other times for being anywhere. The day and time is at your leisure.

    Go for it bro and remember to make your day cheap.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. Sparky  |  March 2, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    I say you get up early on Saturday and go out to get coffee. Drink it there and enjoy it. Take your time with it. Then just spend the day wandering a bit. Go to some shops you have never been to. Grab lunch. End up at a bookstore. You love to read. So browse. Look at every book. Find the one that speaks to you. Buy it. Spend all of Sunday reading it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

