Weekend Wonderings Part Two

March 3, 2007 at 3:55 am 2 comments

Chris has taken off and headed t0 Altoona.  Tonight I am sitting around watching old movies and relaxing.  Thanks for all the encouragement and ideas!  It seems like a bookstore is on my list of things to do. I can get a cup of coffee and maybe pick up a good book to read.   Or I can take my library book and settle into a comfy chair and read there for awhile.

I am reading the Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard.  I like it so far.  It is a mystery involving Edgar Allen Poe and his time that he spent as a cadet in West Point in 1831.  It centers around a retired police investigator that gets called in on a case. There has been an apparent suicide, and the body has been stolen and recovered, but with the heart cut out.  Fearing a scandal, they want the case solved quickly and quietly.  While on the case the investigator meets Poe, and although Poe is terribly drunk at the time, he notices that Poe has a keen eye for observation and “hires” him to be his eyes and ears at West Point.  That is the farthest I have read so far but the writing style is involved and somewhat literary and there are enough historical details to keep me reading. Plus it is a mystery and you all KNOW how I feel about a good mystery.  I have about five more books sitting in a pile in the corner. I hope to get one or two of them read when I go visit my mother the first week in April.  

 Is anyone interested in seeing Zodiac? I am debating whether or not to see it this weekend. It is a long movie and I am not sure I want to sit that long by myself in a theater.  And I hate theaters on weekends because there are too many people. And people in a theater have a  habit of talking all the way through the film and these people always end up sitting behind me.  Sigh.

But I think now I will finish up my movie and hit the sack.  It is getting on eleven. Well past my bedtime!

Good night all!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekend Wonderings Saturday Stuff

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  March 3, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    If I were anywhere near you, I would catch a movie with you, but NOT Zodiac!! I am not into scary movies at all. Scary books and documnentaries, yes. Mind-screwing movies, no.

    I have too much to cram in to my weekend and nothing to blog about. I have to go out and seek inspiration!!

    I kinda miss the blogger dartboard. I have no idea why. Eventually, I’ll update you on my sidebar.

    Hugs…

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  March 3, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Scary movies are not my cup of tea either! I hope you’re enjoing your weekend!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

