Saturday Stuff

March 4, 2007 at 12:21 am 2 comments

I managed to have quite the relaxing day today and I did get out for a bit.

I did the dishes and one of the dishes I had to do was the dreaded crock pot.  I had inherited this pot from a friend, and it was one of the original pots from the seventies that doesn’t have an inner container that you can take out and clean.  So washing it is a bitch.  And it had developed a hairline crack down the inside.  Today, while I was washing it, a chunk of ceramic fell out next to the crack.  So I needed to get a new crock pot.

Luckily I went to the local Target and found just what I needed, and it was on sale!   So I picked that up and a couple of towels and a new rug for the bathroom.   Then I headed to Borders for  a decaf cappucino and managed to buy another cook book while I was there.   I was going to sit and read but all the comfortable chairs were taken.  Well, all the chairs were taken, really.  Probably by people who are not going to spend a dime in the store. You should have to show a receipt and then be allowed to use the comfy chairs.  Maybe with every ten dollars you spend you get fifteen minutes. That sounds fair to me.

Talked to Chris several times on the phone and he is having a nice time though I wish he were home with me.  He was out having margaritas with his brother, cousin and mom while I am here eating frozen pizza.  Well, it is not frozen at the moment but it was about a half an hour ago.  The life I lead!

I think I am going to read some more of my novel and then watch some TV. And then to bed.  Hope you are all having a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekend Wonderings Part Two Robbie Williams Sunday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  March 4, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I am glad that you got out!

    Speaking of crockpots, they make disposable plastic liners for crockpots now (kind of like those roast-in-a-bag deals) and clean up is a breeze!

    P.S. In regards to this: “You should have to show a receipt and then be allowed to use the comfy chairs. Maybe with every ten dollars you spend you get fifteen minutes. That sounds fair to me.” I agree. I used to work in a new age bookstore years ago, and we would get the biggest bunch of mooching losers in there all the time! Grr!

    Reply
  • 2. Debbi  |  March 5, 2007 at 7:30 am

    I used to have one of those type of crock pots, I agree what a pain. I also still have the orignal one with the removable inside that I recieved as a wedding gift, some twenty something years ago.
    I do want one of the new ones that you can lock the sides and take it along with you. Looks very cool.

    I love Borders and could be in there for hours. I just sit on the floor and pile the books I’m deciding about in front of me. lol. I know, I’m such a dork.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

