In the Blogosphere

March 8, 2007 at 3:39 pm 6 comments

I tried to write a post last night. I really did.  But  the Internet was slow and I had a crushing headache and I stared at the white space and nothing materialized.

This morning the Internet is still slow and my headache is better and I should be cleaning the kitchen. But here I sit, looking at the white space and hoping for an idea.

I know some blogs are political and some offer commentary on things in the news or in entertainment, and mine just seems to be posts about the things I do each day.  I guess I am using the blog like a diary, to chronicle my activity (or lack thereof).

Why do I blog?

I started on a lark when my friend Elizabeth first told me about the world of blogging. It sounded like something I could do.  Usually I don’t stick with things for very long, I grow weary and bored and give up.  But my blog seems to refuse to die. I have days that I don’t have much to say or miss a post, but I doggedly soldier on and somehow keep going.

I think it is the connection I feel with you readers.   It makes me happy to think that someone out there can care about you even if they haven’t met you.  That someone takes the time out of his or her day to check in with me, to see how I am doing and what I am doing.  Even when I am doing not much of anything.

And today I am  not doing much of anything. Work later.  This weekend one of our friends is coming to stay (hence I have to get the kitchen cleaned) and that should be fun, although I work on Saturday.  I am off tomorrow and  have no plans, I might try and tackle the living room and take the dog on a walk if it is not too cold.

Now I am going to go and take a part of my day to find out how you are all doing.  So I can feel connected.  And I need to feel connected. Take care!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Bonefish Electronic Mishaps

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  March 8, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I’m so glad that we “connected”! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Cameron  |  March 9, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    It’s always fascinating to read people’s reasons and motivations for having a blog.

    I don’t know quite why I have one, either…

    …except that I’ve always enjoyed writing in journals. Blogs are simply public ones, and yes, it IS gratifying when we make connections with other bloggers.

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  March 9, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I have similar feelings about my own blog. I started with no agenda, and I’m not into politics except as a passing interest whenever I get too happy (hehe). Every so often I write about a current event or issue that I feel passion for, but mostly I’m writing about myself.

    I also tend to get bored with things after a while, so I know how you feel.

    I’m glad to have found your blog, and I’m glad you’re sticking with it. Perhaps we both can use our blogs to convince ourselves that we can stick with something.

    I hope you and Chris and your guest have a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 4. Rian  |  March 9, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I so understand what you’re saying. I think almost the same as you and the other Doug.

    I get bored by many things after a while as well, but blogging myself and reading other blogs is still very interesting.
    I was narrowing down the number of blogs I’m reading regularly due to too little free time, but with some people (like you, for example) I really have to read whenever there’s time, because I feel a connection. It sounds strange, but it is how it is.

    Have a nice weekend!

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. Sparky  |  March 9, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    Just do what I do when you have nothing to write about. Google “weird news” and see what pops up. They tend to be my most popular posts. Go figure.

    And, for the record, I love checking in with you, Mister.

    Reply
  • 6. Ashley  |  March 10, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Sometimes I wish I could get a hug from Doug through blogging. I’ll just have to settle for your sparkling personality!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

