Just because everyone else likes it…

March 10, 2007 at 8:55 pm 5 comments

does NOT mean that I am going to.

Did any of you see Borat?  Did you find it at all amusing?  I did not. It was bad reality television turned into film.

The concept is that a man pretends to be visiting the US from another country and is filming a documentary about the visit.  That is the only reason that he must have been able to get these poor folks to sign on as part of the project. He only serves to berate and ridicule them in what I considered to be a very cruel fashion.

I suppose some might find it funny, and many of the people that he ridiculed were people who’s opinions I don’t really want or need.  But the way that he set about ridiculing them seemed cruel and hateful.   For example, he went to an elegant dinner party with people who seemed interested in learning about his culture.  He excuses himself and goes to the restroom.  He comes back and hands his hostess a bag of excrement and pretends he does not know how to use the toilet.  Then we have to watch her trying to explain to him how to go to the bathroom and all the while knowing that he knows full well how he is manipulating her and forcing her to become a laughing stock and our entertainment.

I am very interested to see how the lawsuits against him pan out (some of the people in the film contend that they were coerced into signing their rights away and that he had every right to show them in this light. I would almost call it defamation of character.) And I am also wondering how he managed to get away with some of these stunts without getting arrested (like interrupting a business conference while cavorting across the stage nude).  Although I am not a big fan of Pamela Anderson, watching what he did to her made me very uncomfortable and would be what I consider an assault.  She was at a public booksigning.  Will she fear doing more public signings because of what happened? I know that it would surely have unsettled me.  I really wonder how they got her to agree to show that scene in the film.   In my opinion it was terribly unfunny.

I only had to ask myself how I would feel if it were me on the screen and if I were the rube that walked into his antics.  What is stopping him from making a sequel?  What if he walks into my library or your workplace?  What if he walks up to you on the street or on the subway only to film it so a nation can see your embarrassment?

If this is what we call entertainment these days it is no wonder I have turned off my TV an intend to keep it off.   Reality TV is going further and further and I for one don’t want to see people eating insects or getting into fistfights over who is the father of a child.  I don’t know where society is heading now that this is becoming entertainment.

Our kids might not know the joys of a good book, the love of stimulating conversation, the elegance of a nice restaurant or even how to take on an intellectual pursuit.

I know I am not the most sophisticated of people but even I have to draw the line.

I watched all of Borat and I am sorry.  I think a few brain cells must have died.  I can only hope this kind of movie is on the way out.  I know I will never pay for such a thing!

Entry filed under: films.

Electronic Mishaps Heart Shaped Box

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  March 10, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    “I only had to ask myself how I would feel if it were me on the screen…”

    I think that is the crux of the problem: very few people put themselves in anyone else’s shoes. It’s funny as long as it happens to someone else.

    I haven’t seen it and I hadn’t really intended to. Now I’m definitely not.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  March 11, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I hadn’t intended on seeing this, and your review has just confirmed that I won’t be. Thanks!

    P.S. If Borat shows up at your library, turn the fire hose on him!

    Reply
  • 3. Cameron  |  March 11, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Thanks for saving me the trouble and expense of seeing this movie — not that I’d intended to anyway.

    You are sophisticated enough to realize that books, conversation and fine dining are indeed very important — which is more than I can say about the majority of the populace.

    Keep those standards alive.

    Reply
  • 4. duane  |  March 12, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    You know, I found it incredibly offensive. While I did laugh at some things, I was incredibly offended at about 98% of it. I can’t even imagine what it must be like to be Jewish and see it. What an asshole.

    Reply
  • 5. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  March 18, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Warning, this may sound like a racist post but it isn’t, it’s a cull from an article which appeared in the Evening Standard in 2005.
    You are correct, Borat in crap, the character is crap so God knows how he managed to get a film out of such shit material. Yet I am not surprised. Sascha Baron Cohen’s last chracter. “Ali G was a very poor pastiche of sundry other characters that had been around on British TV for a long, long time. The sight of a north London Jew playing a west London Pakki [slang for Asian] initating a south London coon has only got so much mileage in it. Sadly for Mr Baron Cohen, that mileage has run out”
    When SBC was still very much a “fringe” comedian with his Ali G character, I had the pleasure of refusing him entry into a nightclub, after much argument he aske me why I wasn’t letting him in and I told him it was because he was black [knowing full well that he wasn’t]. He then told me, in his most patronising “Golders Green” English that he was Jewish, not black. “Well this is a Christian revivalist function, so you’re definatly not coming in, now fuck off!” and he did.
    The small victories are the ones most worth winning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

