Utterly wiped

March 13, 2007 at 11:09 pm 6 comments

I don’t know where this post is headed but I want you to know that I am very tired.

I have been getting up rather early and leaving the house around 7:00 for a drive through the city to a branch library I am visiting while the construction gets done. The traffic snarls and I snarl and the ride home is particularly bad and when I arrive at my abode I am very tired.

And today, I managed to make a turn to early and nearly got lost. I thought it was where I usually follow the bend around but it was not, and I had no idea how to get back to where I started.  Luckily there were signs pointing me to the highway and I managed to follow them and got back on track. 

Two things I want to tell you.

Yesterday I reviewed Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill.  Joe Hill is actually the pen name of Stephen King’s son.  I don’t know why you would bother with a pen name when you are going to tell everybody who you really are.  No wonder he wrote a horror novel! 

The other thing I wanted to tell you was about the Fractured Prune.

I am going there tomorrow morning. This is a donut shop started in Ocean City Maryland and apparently you make gourmet donuts and you actually tell them what toppings you want on the donut and they make it while you wait!  They have some awesome looking flavors like one called sand that is cinnamon sugar and glaze, and they have a German chocolate one with chips and coconut.  I think I will be in heaven. They have opened quite close to the branch that I am visiting so I hope I don’t make this a habit.

And that is all. Looking like a dull week but the weekend looks promising, weather wise.  I will have to come up with something to do!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Heart Shaped Box Hooked on a Feeling

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  March 14, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    This donut shop, do they deliver? 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Rian  |  March 14, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I’m so glad we’re not really having Donuts in Germany. I would even be more chubby if we had. Anyway, I would just LOVE to taste those you were talking about… *sigh*

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  March 14, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Not only “why use a pen name if you’re going to say who you are,” but when you’re Stephen King’s son, take advantage of the name! Damn!

    Yum! Fresh donuts!

    Reply
  • 4. Bunny Lynn Boofay  |  March 15, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Doug Darlin’, If’in’ them donut folks try sellin’ you a fancy pastry like a bear claw ro a maple bar, you just remember what I always say, “I don’t eat nothin’ that ain’t got nuts an’ a big hole!…”

    Huggs, etc… Bunny Lynn

    Reply
  • 5. Tony  |  March 15, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Well I’d rather have a lousy week than a lousy weekend on MY time. Hope all is well.

    Reply
  • 6. The Fatalist  |  March 19, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Why use a pen name, and tell everyone about it? Doh! It gets us talking about it…more publicity. Says commericially cynical old me.
    That doughnut shop sounds delicious! You Americans are crazy about them. I’m happy with the cheap vanilla filled ones from Tesco!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

