And now, tattoos.

March 20, 2007 at 1:23 am 5 comments

This is just a post on tattoos and why people get them.  If you have a tattoo please respond! I really would like to know!

Two questions that I have are as follows:

1. Why get a tattoo somewhere that you cannot see, such as your back?  You must know that it is there but you would never get to see it!  If I were spending all that money for a tattoo I would at least like to look at it.  I think I will stick to buying artwork for my home. Then I can see it all that I want!

2. What happens if you get tired of having something permanently etched on your body?  My tastes change, and some things that I used to like I don’t like anymore.  For example, what if I am nuts for Garfield in my twenties and decided to get a tattoo of the little cat on my forearm.  Then, when I turn 40 I start to think that I don’t really like  him all that much and then I have to get it removed.  I mean, I guess you always can get them removed.

Did you notice that sometimes when a person gets older, the tattoo begins to stretch or wobble and looks misshapen? Just a thought.  And Chris says that you have to be careful because when you get a tattoo you cannot perspire in that location on your skin.  So if you cover your body in tattoos it is not the healthiest thing you can do.

I know that I could never get a tattoo because I could not sit for that legnth of time while it was happening.  And I can’t really think of anything that I would want tattooed on my skin.

Oh, and I don’t have anything against tattoos and think that some people have some really interesting ones! I am just curious as to why you decided that you wanted this permanent moniker to carry with you, always.

That and I couldn’t think of anything else I wanted to talk about today. So, discuss among yourself!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Alice Faye Sight Unseen

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  March 20, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    I would like to get a tattoo of Sri Hanuman next to a small Omyogo, but I have been FORBIDDEN to get any tattoos!

    I never heard about not sweating. What does that do to a tattoo?

    Reply
  • 2. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  March 20, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    I know that I’ve mentioned tattoos in my blog before, hmmmmm, vile things!

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  March 21, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    I’ve wondered about tattoos myself. I don’t have one and don’t want one because of the permanence.

    My favorite idea regarding tattoos: a quote from M*A*S*H:

    “You could get a tattoo of a necktie. No restaurant could ever refuse you.”
    “Or you could get a calendar. It would at least be useful for a year.”

    Reply
  • 4. Tanna  |  August 17, 2007 at 1:02 am

    I somehow came upon your stories and found the tattoo one quite interesting. I am an 18 year old girl and got one on my 18th birthday. My father took me and paid for it as a present. I’m not trashy or anything, but it’s almost a sense of freedom. I designed my own with a heart, and it has 2 morning glorys (one at the top, one a the bottom) with leaves and a sort of black vine coming out next to the flowers. It’s a nice size and I put it below where my pant-line sits.. on that bone.
    I must say I love the tattoo. It is one where I will never lose taste in it because it isn’t a skull, or puppy, or anything.

    That’s all for now. Just thought I would reply.

    Have a nice night. =]

    Reply
  • 5. Deana  |  September 17, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I am 24 and as of yet have no tattoos but that is soon going to change. I have three tattoos I want to get they all have meaning to me as well. One is of my three childrens names along with a cute design, the other is in memory of a friend who died unexpectedly in June was gonna get her name etc, the last one is in memory of my father who died in August I have a design just for him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

