Death comes for the fat man

March 25, 2007 at 1:42 am 1 comment

Hi

Just a quick update.  I am frantically reading as per usual. I have scads of books to get through and not enough time to get to them all!  

I am a bit concerned because I just started Death Comes For The Fat Man by Reginald Hill.  It is the latest in the Dalziel and Pascoe series (titled Death of Dalziel in the UK)  I am a bit concerned at the title.  I really hope Hill is not going to kill of Andy Dalziel!  The books would not be the same without him!  (and you can’t have a Dalziel and Pascoe novel without Dalziel! )  I have just started and so far there has been a tremendous explosion in an Arab run video store and both Dalziel and Pascoe have been injured.  Not looking good for the fat man.  I am a tremendous fan of the series and was anxious to start this one. I will fill you in on my progress tomorrow.

I finised the Virgin of Small Plains by Nancy Pickard today.  It is set in a small town in Kansas where an unidentified young woman was found naked out in the snow.  Years later the crime is still unsolved and there rose up a folk legend that the “virgin” can cure the sick when they visit her gravesite.   Abby, now a landscaper in her thirties, is upset because on the night of the murder her boyfriend Mitch left town without a word and has contacted nobody since.  Their friend Rex is now the town sheriff and Abby is intent on reopening the case.  And it seems that some people involved may actually have known the identity of the dead woman.  It is a suspense thriller that really gets you involved and really does have a suprise ending. Very well written and a very good read.  Do try it!

It is one of the six books up for the Edgar as I have mentioned.  I have read five of them so far and really am unable to decide which book I would choose as the winner. I guess I will just have to wait until April to find out.  I am leaning toward the Janissary Tree, previously reviewed. There was alot of work that went into the novel and the author really seemed to capture the time and place.   But all of the nominees have been good. I have one more to try and track down and I will have read all six of them! At the rate I am reading it should be done in no time!

Well, back to the printed page!

Entry filed under: books.

Shopaholic and Baby Happy Monday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  March 25, 2007 at 11:04 am

    If you come across “Between Silk & Cyanide” givr it a read. It’s the autobiog. of a chap called Marks who worked for SOE during the war [but as an office body, not a spy] It takes a bit of getting into but is very good. I cried buckets towards the end. [also, he’s the son of the owner of the bookshop in Hellen Hanff’s 84 Charing Cross Road]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

