And Now, Good Reads.

March 30, 2007 at 11:46 pm 6 comments

My friend Mary in Ohio sent me a link.   It is called Good Reads (www.goodreads.com) and I am enjoying it so far. It seems to be like the Friendster of book lovers.  Check it out and sign up. It’s easy.

The concept of Good Reads is simple. It is connected to Amazon, and you can search for books you have read, books you want to read and books you are currently reading.  You can separate them into several bookshelves (so far I have a mystery shelf) and if you want you can add a review of the book to help you remember what you have read.  You can also add friends to your profile and you are attached to the friends and can see what they are reading!  You can look at lists of popular titles and find new people and check out what kinds of books they read.  It is great fun for the book lover. I have just started and am building my bookshelf and trying to think of the books that I have read and how I would rate them. It seems to be easier with the books I have just finished. 

If you decide to join let me know! Then I can add you as a friend and we can share our favorites.  I am about to log back on and add some more favorites to my bookshelf.

Tomorrow I leave for my mothers so I might not get the chance to blog.  She does have the internet so we shall see. It all depends on my motivation.  My sister has already lost her job.  I think this time she lasted a month? Who knows.

I promise to drive carefully and see you all soon.

Entry filed under: books.

Malaise Snowy PA

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kev in NZ  |  March 31, 2007 at 12:09 am

    Have a great weekend at your mum’s Doug. As you said, have a safe drive. I guess your mum lives a fair distance away.

    Have fun.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 2. deramidesign  |  March 31, 2007 at 1:01 am

    Well, I’ll have to check that out and maybe reconsider Amazon … though I still prefer using smaller niche sites with other targetting systems to find my books. We’ll see 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  March 31, 2007 at 2:40 am

    yes, i know about Good Reads… : )
    i even have it as a “link” : )
    and yes, i joined, but i haven’t had the time to list my books… : (

    list me as your friend so that i can see your selection of books,
    or do i need to list you?

    anyway, have a wonderful time at your mother’s : )

    blessings,
    coco

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  March 31, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Have a safe trip! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  April 1, 2007 at 4:29 am

    Sounds interesting. Have a good trip. Families are exhausting, aren’t they?

    Hugs.

    Reply
  • 6. Doug  |  April 1, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Good luck with the trip to Mom & Sis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

