Malaise

March 30, 2007 at 12:28 am 3 comments

rosemary.jpg

 I have been feeling a general sense of depression this week. Not sure where it is coming from.  Just feeling out of sorts and sort of disconnected from things.   Maybe I am just feeling a little bit lonely.  I definately am feeling blue.  I am sure it will pass.

I just read today that one of my favorite shows, Rosemary and Thyme, has been cancelled.  I am watching season three on Netflix this week and it was the last season produced.   The article I read even said that the final two episodes were never aired.   I hope Felicity Kendall and Pam Ferris can get together and make a reunion movie.  I guess it was not doing that well in its native England.  I really enjoy the series. It is about two gardeners who always seem to stumble upon a dead body.  The gardening theme is fun and the show always has them working on lovely gardens full of bright colors. The gardens always look really lovely by the end of the episode but you have to push the corpses away.  I am thinking of purchasing the series to own on DVD.  After all, it IS only three seasons.  Oh for the days of quality television! 

One more day at work and then I leave for my mothers.  I talked to her on the phone the other night and she is doing well and my sister still has maintained her full time job and we will see how long this lasts.  My mom is excited that I will be up there for Easter.   Easter is not really a holiday I celebrate.  I am not very religious.  I don’t think that it is that I don’t believe in God, it’s more that the thought of going somewhere where I have to interact with so many people frightens me. I tend to be somewhat reclusive.  Chris doesn’t seem to mind. He likes going to church and rings handbells and everything.  My mother has made reservations at a nice restaraunt for Easter dinner and that should be something nice.  Probably get the traditional ham.   I guess with all that I have been through in my life, it just isn’t really necessary to do holidays anymore.  I really can’t get into all that pretense of happy families and perfect little holidays.   I would rather make my regular days as good as I can make them.  I don’t want to set myself up and then be disapointed.  By not having a holiday, I don’t really miss anything. 

There I go again.  All maudlin.  I hope I can get over this. I really do.  Mabye tomorrow will find me more upbeat.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mika! And Now, Good Reads.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kev in NZ  |  March 30, 2007 at 6:08 am

    I am not to fussed with Easter either. Personally i am always pleased when it is over.

    I hope you have a better week next week.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  March 30, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    The holidays don’t mean a lot to me anymore either. Except for Halloween of course!

    Have a wonderful trip! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  March 30, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    As others have said to me, ennui seems to be in the air. I hope we all get over it soon.

    I’m with you on the holidays. For the most part, holidays are commercial events with people clogging the stores and restaurants making it difficult to live normally for that day. Chris and I usually take it easy on holidays.

    *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

