Better, or worse

April 7, 2007 at 3:17 am 2 comments

Still here in charming Pennsylvania.

This trip there really has not been any drama.  Things are pretty darn normal.  I am feeling rested and relaxed.  I am really having a nice time.

Tonight I followed the Barefoot Contessa’s lead and roasted some potatoes in olive oil with some salt, pepper and seasoning.  They were great.  I really enjoy the Food Network. I hope to be able to get cable when I get back to Baltimore.  Chris says we can, but then he might not really mean it.   He always tells me I can when I am here on the phone, and then when I get home we never do.  Too expensive he says.

But sometimes I feel so disconnected without it.  I mean, everyone else has cable and it becomes what people talk about.  They talk about Idol, and Dancing with the Stars.  And what happened on 24.   And who they like on the Food Network.   And I can basically tell them that I don’t have cable OR an antenna and have no idea what they are talking about. And yet when I come here, I enjoy watching TV.  It gives me something to do, other than moping around the living room or taking too many naps.  And there is always something on.  If you are feeling lonely, you can turn on the TV, even at two in the morning and someone is there to talk to you.  Maybe it is living vicariously through others lives, but sometimes it is just what you need to perk you up.

Tonight, we watched the Ghost Whisperer and Wife Swap. There is really no end to what you can see and learn on TV.   I think I am calling for cable as soon as I get back.   Who knows. I may even start to tape Days of Our Lives.  I might even watch MTV.  I might decide I like hip hop. Who knows?

Other than that I am feeling better and sometimes worse.  Sometimes I want to cry and sometimes I feel OK.   Not sure what this little roller coaster is happening in my life right now.  Maybe that I feel serene and happy and have my family here and it is soon over and and I will have to return to Baltimore.  It was so nice preparing dinner for my mom. It reminded me of when I used to cook at home when I was a teenager.  That was when I really taught myself to cook.  And we had family dinners.  And I made some really great things. I know I can again.   And Chris really appreciates everything I make. 

So, I am not sure where this post is heading or what I am feeling. Just glad you all are listening.  Thanks.

Entry filed under: Here or There.

Snowy PA The Head Cold

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  April 7, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I’m glad that you’re having a good visit! 🙂

    P.S. Even though it is outrageous what they charge for cable these days, I would still think that you could afford at least basic cable, which should give you at least the network shows (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX…)! Good luck convincing Chris!!

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  April 10, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Just enjoy your time D! Family is important and it’s hard to leave them behind. I know cu’z a good chunk of mine is in Northern California most of the year. I am feeling it now with the family all down visiting for Easter break. I recognize how much I miss my little nephews and niece from that neck of the woods. they’re growing so fast and time is something precious these days as I get older.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

