What the Dead Know

April 14, 2007 at 10:33 pm 3 comments

The Lyon Sisters

Hey Guys. Check out this link…. This is a true account of the Lyon sisters. Two sisters who were abducted here in Maryland in 1975 and were never found.   Creepy.

Well, Laura Lippman has taken this true story and has turned it into a novel called What the Dead Know.  I am halfway through and have read half the book in practically one sitting.  It is about what happens when one of the sisters comes back and is too reluctant to talk about what happened.  It is amazing.  Lippman really is a master of her craft, and I have not read anything she has written, though I have met her several times at book signings at the library. I heard great things about this novel and am not disapointed.  And neither will you be.  So, stop reading this blog and get off your butt and get to Barnes and Nobel or your local library and GET THIS BOOK! It’s awesome!  I am gonna try and knock off another hundred pages tonight before I go to bed.  And read the link about the Lyon sisters, too.  I love reading about cold cases. I find them fascinating, that a crime can take place and years later they are still working on solving it.  And technology increases and suddenly they have all these new tools at their disposal in order to try and solve the case.  This novel doesn’t rely on technology,  but more about the psychological makeup of the victim.  Do you believe her? Is it a hoax? It is up to you to decide!

I was planning on making chili and had all the ingredients but Chris threw my recipe away.   So, I fudged it a little and managed to get everything I had bought into the pot.  It smells good at any rate (though I think I threw in too much chili powder. It might be HOT!)  I guess that really is the point of chili.

Oh, and I used ground turkey to make it healthier.  I am also roasting some little red potatoes to go with.  Should be a good dinner as the chili is simmering away for over an hour. The flavors will be all mingled.  Just call me Ms. Ray!

Entry filed under: books.

Matt Dusk! Sunday News

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hot toddy  |  April 15, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Oh, I heard the author talk about this book! It sounds fascinating, but I haven’t read it yet. I will check it out as soon as I finish the six other books I’m trying to finish!

    I also want to get a copy of “Eat.Pray.Love”. Can’t remember the author, but it sounds like a wonderful and inspirational book.

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  April 15, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    Ok, I’ve started a list on Amazon of all the books you recommend. I can’t promise anything, but I plan to go through the books you read/recommend and try to read them myself. I read much more slowly than you, so I won’t ever catch up, but at least my bookshelf will become more interesting.

    And dinner sounds yummy! I’ve got the tuna casserole recipe you made from a while ago. I still need to try it.

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  April 15, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Thank you for the book recommendation : )
    I can’t wait to get a copy of it!

    Ms Ray, your chili sounds YUMMY!!

    Have you finished your book list on Good Reads yet?

    Have a wonderful week! : )

    Oh, hey,…so are you hooked up to cable yet?

    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

