Sunday News

April 16, 2007 at 2:00 am Leave a comment

Just a quick post today. Finished What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman.  It was amazing all the way until the ending and the ending housed a surprise that I was not expecting and blew me away. I will be surprised if this one does not get nominated for a crime writing award this year.  It should!

I was a bit depressed because we had several bills piling up with the heating bill increasing and the roof in the kitchen leaking and I had to cancel our cruise for this coming November in order to conserve funds.

But then I was doing some researching and some pricing on the Internet and was able to find a 5 day cruise that was for the same week as the cancelled cruise for just $299 a person.  For all 5 days!  It leaves from Jacksonville and stops at Nassau in the Bahamas and Key West.  I have never been to Key West and it will be great fun and we will be able to get away on a cruise this year, even if it has to be a little bit shorter.  This time it is on Carnival and is one of the older, smaller ships. I have never been on Carnival before so it should be an experience.  Now I just have to wait several months.

Looking at my pile of books to see what I want to start next. Probably Pig Island by Mo Hayder.  I would start it tonight but it is in the back seat of my car. It is a mystery with a supernatural twist.  I will keep you informed.  I know that some of you are starting to take my suggestions so good for you!  You can read em and we can discuss.

Entry filed under: Here or There.

What the Dead Know Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

