The return of the Book Whore

April 20, 2007 at 1:31 am 7 comments

I know.  About two weeks ago I made the announcement that I was going to break down and get cable television.   When I visit my mom, I spend the week watching the food channel, and this time, I thought I would bring the food channel home.

Cable is not cheap.  It is fifty bucks a month.  This same fifty bucks could be spent doing other things like going out to eat, buying music or ordering books.   The more I thought about it, cable did not seem as attractive.

For example, if I am paying fifty bucks a month for something, I will feel pressured to use it.  After all, why pay for something that I am not watching?  And what if I am reading?  I read all the time anyway so there will be several nights that I will have the TV off anyway.  I guess I could have it on as background noise, but who pays fifty bucks for background noise?

And any TV show that I want to see comes out on DVD the following year so I can watch the whole season uninterupted and without commercials on Netflix. 

And did I mention I like to spend my time reading?  I guess when it comes right down to it, I am a Book Whore.  I will always be a Book Whore.  There is nothing better than a tome in my hands, barreling through it and getting to the next one.   I just love books.

And I have lived without cable for five years now, why start again?  I don’t seem to be any worse for wear, and alot of shows are now popping up on websites and I can just watch them from there.

So, for all of you that are waiting for the cable report, you will be disapointed.  But for those of you who love book reviews… (or just read them to humor me)  look no further.  Doug ain’t going anywhere.

Entry filed under: books.

So Tired… Love…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coco  |  April 20, 2007 at 3:12 am

    I LOVE to read!!
    AND yes, I enjoy reading your reviews : )

    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  April 20, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I wish I could kick the TV habit. I wish I could find the motivation to read more. When we go on vacation, we never watch TV, and I enjoy being unplugged. When we get back, though, we spend time getting caught up on our Tivo’ed programs.

    I admire you for being more into books than TV. If only more kids could be raised that way.

    Reply
  • 3. Ed  |  April 21, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    Yeah, my baby sitter growing up was the TV. I can’t stop watching it. If you get basic cable it is less than 15 dollars a month at least here in Indiana.
    The may sweeps are coming up and all the shows will be first rate. I wonder why they can’t have this same quality all year round.

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  April 21, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Hubby is his mother’s son, so we HAVE to have cable! I don’t know as I could do without cable myself, but, it would be on a lot less if Hubby wasn’t in the picture…

    Reply
  • 5. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  April 23, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    Hmmm, crime thrillers. I must admit, not my type of book. Lots of years ago, Dave and I were going to Florida for a hol and my mother asked me if I could get her anything by Tony Hillerman. She had gotten one of his books from the library and liked it. She then found that it was the only one she could get. Good ol’ Barnes & Noble had the [then] full set which cost me a fortune to ship home [this was pre internet / amazon. I’ve tried reading them but dont like them.

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. Sparky  |  April 24, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I’m a cable-less book whore as well.

    Reply
  • 7. Aron  |  January 30, 2008 at 5:17 am

    You have a nice blogs here. About this Book, it’s good I think, and can help many people too. Keep the good work. If you have a relationship problem and want to solve it or you want to spice up your lovemaking, you can go to this site http://downloadsparadise.com/. God Bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

