This and That

April 23, 2007 at 11:00 pm 2 comments

Last night I finished reading Sharp Objects.   What a read!  It is about a severely dysfunctional family, one that puts mine to shame!   It involves Camille Preaker who travels from Chicago back to her hometown in Missouri.  Camille is a cutter and has spent years carving words into her own flesh, due mainly to the family situation I mentioned earlier.  Camille works for a Chicago paper, and the reason she must return to Missouri is that two girls have been murdered, nine months apart, and the paper really needs her to get the story.  So, she travels home to stay with her mother, step father and half sister Amma. 

Gillian Flynn, who wrote the novel, really captures small town life and the characters that make up the town.  It seems not only the Preaker family are in desparate need of help.   Tongues wag and gossip flows and Camille must fight her own demons to try and get to the bottom of this case.   This is also one of the novels up for the Edgar award, this one for the category of best first novel, and Amazon has rated it one of the best of the year.  It really is an interesting story and character study and does keep you on your toes.  I really enjoyed it.

Now I have started the Blackest Bird, a story of murder in nineteenth century New York. I will keep you posted.

The other thing I have recently discovered is that you can go to cbs.com and watch episodes of CSI, CSI:NY and CSI:Miami!   I was well aware that you could watch shows on ABC.com but didn’t realize other networks started to do it to.  Who needs cable! I just get the laptop fired up and I can watch all sorts of prime time offerings, whenever I want! So, I spent the weekend catching up with CSI.  Modern technology. Who knew?

I slept pretty badly last night. I could not fall asleep and kept waking up.  I tossed and turned and therefore am quite tired. And in the middle of the night I received a little four legged visitor in the form of my dog, who decided to leap up onto the bed to say hello  (she doesn’t usually do this, which is why it surprised me!) but how can I deny lovin’ to my little dog.

Well, off to scrounge around for something for dinner!

Entry filed under: books, Here or There.

Love… Learning Something New

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  April 24, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    I hope that you have a better night’s sleep tonight!

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  April 28, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Ok, I added this to my “Doug’s Good Reads” list. I’m never gonna catch up. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

