Kids and Work

April 27, 2007 at 12:56 am 4 comments

Today was take your children to work day.

Personally, I think that if you do not have kids and do not plan on having kids, you should get this day off. No questions asked.

Not that I mind children, but children are not known for their attention spans.

They care about what mommy is doing for about fifteen minutes and then need to be entertained the rest of the day.  You have to provide coloring sheets, crafts, a video

And they take over your workspace. They are in the office. You can’t avoid them.  They are sitting at the conference table, running about the room, sitting at the staff room tables when you are trying to read and eat your lunch.

I mean, really.   Why can’t we have “bring the dog to work day” or “hang out with your cat day?”

And what is up with maternity leave?

I know I am not planning on having a baby but I sure would love to have two months off in a row.   You have to put up with the cramps and the contractions and the labor, that is for sure, but you get two months off to stay at home with your newborn!  Of course, you won’t be sleeping either, you will be up all night while the baby cries, unless you get a really good nanny.  So, forget the maternity leave.

We had some children at work  today but they were very well behaved.  And they didn’t stay the entire day, just a half day.  And we put them to work! 

So what am I complaining about?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What am I thinking? The Introvert In Me

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  April 27, 2007 at 1:43 am

    I told my staff not to bring their kids to work. I am pretty hard core about the bring your kid to work thing. It’s not like they are going to learn anything where I work. A library? Sure. I totally get that. At least you have books for kids where you work! Firestation? Sure.. For a few minutes, perhaps. Until the truck has to roll out and mommy or daddy has to fight an actual fire.

    But not a grey-cubicled, government office. Nope.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  April 27, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    I so agree… (thankfully, none of my staff brought their kids in)

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. Sparky  |  April 28, 2007 at 5:30 am

    Next year you can bring me to work!

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  April 28, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    I kinda liked BYKTW Day. It was a day where my boss didn’t really expect much work out of me. Yes, I’m aware that I’m lazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

