Clean Sweep

May 2, 2007 at 2:44 pm 3 comments

I need to hire a maid.

 The problem is that I would not want a maid to come in and see the state of our house.   And I know that it is primarily my fault.

To say that I am a packrat is an understatement.  I really need to find a way to declutter my life.

If a maid did come to the house, it would be hard for he or she to clean because first he would have to move piles of objects from one location to another.  Then, he would have to move said objects back to their original location.  I have no more places where I can store these objects.  The cupboards are full. 

I even still have Christmas knickknacks sitting on the coffee table.  My mother bought them for me and I have nowhere to put them.   I suppose I could box them up and put them in the basement, but I never go down into the basement, and I would not go down  there to retrieve them next year. I would never see them again.

And I would feel guilty because my mother bought them for me and I know she doesn’t have much money and therefore I should treasure them.  And keep them out.  If only I had more closets!

The other problem about hiring a maid is that I would have to do something with the pets.  Lola does not like strangers coming to the house.  She bares her teeth and growls.  And Scrunchie tries to run out the front door.  So, I would probably have to board the pets on the day the maid came.  Another expense. 

I wish I could be one of those gay men who worship Martha Stewart.  I wish Chris could be one of those men!  But we are not the neatest of couples.  And when you put two people together who are not neat, disasters can happen.  And I am living in a disaster!

I would post pictures but I don’t want to scare you.  I know that this is a product of my depression.  Sometimes when I get home I don’t have the energy to think about straightening up.  The other problem I have is where to begin? 

There was a woman on the internet who decided to sell everything she owned in one fell swoop.  She just was tired of being tied to her things.   I admire her courage!  If only I could do that as well.   There are so many objects that I haven’t looked at or handled in years.  If I could just get rid of them. 

I think this weekend I am going to tackle one room.  Just one.  And I am going to go through everything.  Maybe Chris can start selling things on Ebay and make us some cash.   Maybe I will find a hidden treasure.   Maybe I can just fill a garbage bag and throw it all away.  At any rate, I am going to try.

Now, does anybody need a bowling ball?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Links Random Thoughts

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  May 2, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    That’s what I was going to suggest. Start with one room. Have a tag sale, sell the things that you no longer want on eBay, or donate them to the Goodwill and get a tax write-off.

    The longest journey begins with a single step.

    Reply
  • 2. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  May 3, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    We [Dave & I] have had similar but different problems. In the past, because we have tended to move pubs and, by virtue of “living over the shop”, moved house about every two or three years, we don’t keep much clutter. That is with the exception of about twelve thousand books. We don’t have room for clutter. Get books, they take up space, look good [but are hell to move] and don’t leave space for anything else!

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  May 8, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Martha Stewart is overrated. (I’m sure to get hatemail for that one)

    Is there a particular problem you have? Can you still get in your front door and find the things you need? If so, no worries!

    It also sounds like you’re putting a lot of pressure on yourself. You can cherish the memory of things received, and you can cherish the person who gave them to you, but you can also be practical at the same time. If you have something that evokes memories for you, but you just don’t have the space for it, take a picture of it and get rid of the thing itself. Then you can always look at the picture. And if you donate the thing to goodwill or another charity organization, you know it’s going to help those in need.

    Barring all that, you could hire a live-in houseboy. Y’know, about 22 years old, interests include fitness, surfing, gymnastics, etc. etc. 😉

    My $0.02. *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

