Random Thoughts

May 3, 2007 at 11:49 pm 5 comments

Just some thoughts for a Thursday.

Went to a new restaurant for dinner.  Nino Taco.  It was pretty good and definitely cheap.  I got the mile high nachos.  Nachos loaded with beans, cheese and salsa.  Then the whole dish was baked to a crispy warm goodness.  Made my night.

I have become obsessed with my email. I tend to be checking it once an hour.  And then realize that I haven’t received any new mail.  I am trying my hardest not to check it right now. I don’t know where this urge is coming from.  Maybe I need to make some new email friends.

I bought this new CD by Bebel Gilberto.  I bought it because I read the review and it sounded interesting.  It is Brazilian music and it is really pretty, but now I am not sure if I bought it because I like Brazilian music, or because I want people to think I am the kind of person who would like Brazilian music.  Anyway. I like the CD. Whatever that makes me.

I have a love affair with the English group the Pipettes.  They are playing at the Black Cat club in D.C.  on June 2nd.  Tickets are only ten dollars.   I can buy them online.  I am excited.

Except, I am a little scared. The last time we went to find a concert in D.C. the directions were quite difficult.  And the clubs tend to be in areas that are not really tourist friendly.  And I would worry about my car when I was watching the show. And I would be worried about my life when walking back to my car in the dark.

But it is the Pipettes. I might have to deal.

It is taking me a lot longer than I thought to read the current novel that I am reading.  Not that I am not enjoying it, I am, immensely.  But my eyes seem to be a little tired at night and I end up slumped over in the chair.  Probably checking my email.  And watching TV shows streaming from the net.  And I do want to be reading.   I meant to get up early and spend some time reading but I slept in.  Darn me.

I have been feeling unpopular as of late.  My blog does not seem to get very much traffic.   I go to other blogs and they have twelve, fourteen, or twenty comments.  Now I am lucky to get three.   I think I used to do a little better on Blogspot, but needs made me get rid of the address and start over.  I need to promote myself more.

I am really thirsty at the moment. I am drinking a can of ginger ale.  I love ginger ale. It is my favorite type of soda, and, as always, it is caffeine free.

That is all for now!

Entry filed under: Here or There.

Clean Sweep Mistress of the Art of Death

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coco  |  May 4, 2007 at 3:34 am

    I still come by to see how you are doing…
    and I do enjoy reading your posts : )

    If you decide on going to the concert…have FUN!

    As for decluttering…
    No, I do not want the bowling ball. I’m afraid I would be tempted to throw it at my husband. OK, I won’t throw it, but I will be tempted to.

    Have a wonderful weekend : )

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  May 4, 2007 at 6:44 am

    you just keep doing your thing posting D and don’t worry about traffic. I used to be a number watcher and at this point, I don’t care anymore. I blog because its a periodic release for me.

    As for those off the beaten path concerts.. take the chance every now and then. don’t let fear dictate your enjoyment.

    Reply
  • 3. tigeryogi  |  May 4, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    It takes some time to build up an audience after you’ve moved.

    Maybe some eye candy would pull in some new readers? Works for me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. dirkmancuso  |  May 6, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Thank God someone else is e-mail obsessed too! I tend to go through phases of checking it almost fanatically and then not checking for days. I can never seem to find a happy medium.

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  May 8, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Great post!

    I wouldn’t say I’m email-obsessed, but I definitely enjoy getting them.

    It’s funny what motivates us to do things. I’d say you like your new CD because of what you already said: the music is pretty. That makes you a music lover. 🙂

    Re: the concert: you could drive to a safe place and take a cab to and from the concert to wherever you parked your car. A restaurant, a bar, a store, wherever there’s more safety. You could also arrange to go with others. Safety in numbers, etc.

    I’ve noticed a slow-down on the blogosphere. I feel the urge to hug you and say, “But Douggie, you’re popular! I’m sorry I haven’t visited lately!” And then I’d kiss your cheek and hug you tight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

