Sunday. Still Random

May 6, 2007 at 10:54 pm 6 comments

Here is my new favorite Italian, Patrizio Buanne, singing Man Without Love and sounding like a crooner from the fifties. Let the swooning begin!  I just had to share.

Note to Rufus Wainwright:   Please, tell me what your new single “Going to a Town” is all about.  I may be dense, but I just don’t understand it.  The song or the video.   It is a pretty song, but what does it mean?  Any reader that has thoughts or views on this issue, please feel free to share.

Spent the week going veggie.  And it was easy! The only thing I had to eat that was meat were two pieces of shrimp sushi that Chris was served.  He cannot eat shrimp or his throat closes up and gets all itchy.   I had to save the poor boy!

Had quite the relaxing weekend.  Not ready to start the whole thing over again. But needs must.

Hope your weekends were splendid!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mistress of the Art of Death Something you should read

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  May 7, 2007 at 12:04 am

    I came across your blog when I was looking for some info on Rufus concerts and I couldn’t help but answer your question.

    He has said that he views “Going to a Town” as a break-up song except the lover he is leaving is America. He has personally always expressed concern about the Iraq war in his interviews (even prior to its start). As a gay man he is also concerned about the religious right and homophobia – hence the lyric: “Do you really think you go to hell for having loved, and not for thinking evrything that you’ve done is good after soaking the body of Jesus Christ in blood? I’m so tired of you America.”

    The town that he is going to is Berlin (where he recorded the album). He has said in interviews that he wanted to go to a place that had been devastated and had rebuilt itself.

    Reply
  • 2. Coco  |  May 7, 2007 at 12:32 am

    I saw Patrizio Buanne on TV a few months ago…
    Yes, his music is that of a crooner in the 50’s : )

    Rufus Wainwright?! Never heard of him… I’ll need to be more observant.

    Hope your work week goes FAST!

    Blessings.

    Reply
  • 3. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  May 7, 2007 at 3:53 am

    My weekend has been great! It actualy started on tuesday [no less]. Work wise, I’ve had the week from hell and came home [to a pub, which is a recipe for desaster] and thought “I’ll have a drink”. Consequently, Iwent in to work on wednesday with the hang-over from hell. Wedneday is Quiz Night so I ended up drubk again and was late for shift on Thursday. Thursday night finds me attempting to make things right by having a drink and Friday morning sees me in work “half cut”. I didn’t intend having a drink on friday, but I did. So, Saturday morning finds me….. we went to XXL [see the post on my blog for that one] and we went to a friends for lunch / dinner today and came back and drank. Monday [today] is a public holiday. Oh dear…..

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  May 7, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    For all that I’ve heard about Rufus Wainwright, I have yet to actually hear him sing!

    I’m glad that you had a good weekend! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. tony  |  May 7, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Sweet Italian!!!! Voice and all. I kept thinking about Inglebert H. as I listened to that tune.

    Reply
  • 6. Doug  |  May 8, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Glad you had a good weekend.

    Your Italian is quite the looker.

    And way to go saving Chris from that nasty shrimp! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

