Something you should read

May 7, 2007 at 9:59 pm 7 comments

Dr. Sparky On Weight

 I read this post and I was incensed. 

I know what this feels like.  I grew up with it.  I went to college with it.  I became an adult with it.

It is horrible to think that we are all members of a gay community and this is how we treat one another.

Community my ass.  So many times these thin gymbots run around complaining how unfair life is and how they have been discriminated against.  Then they turn around and treat someone that has a little bit of weight on their bones like dirt.  And so while others get to go out and dance and have fun, those of us that are fat sit at home and spend time wondering what we are missing.   It’s crap.

You know that series Queer as Folk? Where was the fat character?  He was absent because none of them would have hung around with him.   They portrayed the gay community as all being thin and attractive and that is all it is supposed to be.  Making fun of the fat guy is fair game.  After all, we could control our eating.  We could go to the gym.  We choose not to.

Well, maybe some of us would rather spend our free time with a good book or watching a good movie.  How many gymbots do you know that don’t read?  Maybe I would rather spend time with someone that does, because at least I won’t have a one sided conversation, all of it being mine.

I am not trying to be bitter.  It just makes me mad.  We all deserve to be treated with dignity.  We all deserve to wear our gay colors and be accepted.  It is just a crying shame that we are not.  Just a crying shame.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sunday. Still Random My internet is wonky.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. Sparky  |  May 7, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    We should form a club and not let any skinny people play with us.

    But they’d probably like that…

    Reply
  • 2. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  May 7, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    You need to go to XXL!

    Reply
  • 3. Tony  |  May 8, 2007 at 12:32 am

    D…just like I told Dr. Sparky, to heck with those guys. Each of us goes out to enjoy ourselves and the company we are with. I personally don’t care about anyone else around me if they can’t be civilized (and I am not promoting to come off cold – I am just saying if you get a negative vibe or reaction from, then ignore them and go about having fun with whomever your with. My friends cross all bounds. Hope all is well and that you had a nice weekend. have a go-get’em week!!

    Reply
  • 4. duane  |  May 8, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Screw ’em is right; but don’t exclude all the skinny boys. Some of them (I used to be one… sigh) totally accept and care for all people because of who they are; and don’t judge.

    I have found that with groups like the bear communities, it can be the same type of thing for those that don’t have the beards and the bellies. I think that whole community should come together and realize that we are all the same, rather than constantly trying to portray this impossible “ideal”. I am all for hanging with your “type” sexually, but that should never dictate who you can or cannot be friends with. That is totally the problem with the uber skinny; they won’t even look at a fat person. It doesn’t make any sense.

    It truly is sad that when one comes out, and finally feels like they will be accepted, that they run into this. It is just awful.

    Reply
  • 5. tigeryogi  |  May 8, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    I couldn’t have said it better!

    All of those snobby gymbots need to eat a cookie anyway…

    Reply
  • 6. Doug  |  May 8, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    Hate and exclusion seem to be wired into us. Thankfully some of us have learned to overcome that instinct. Don’t let the haters influence you.

    Reply
  • 7. Jim  |  May 14, 2007 at 3:38 am

    And a hearty amen from the great white north…

    Duane first brought this to my attention via his blog, and I ended up posting my own rant (albeit lengthy) about it.

    With all the divisions that are rending society today, and the way the gay community is minimalized or put down, one would expect we would not be guilty of it within our own community, but we do, unfortunately.

    I am more than my packaging, but few bother to get past the wrapping. Bugger it, their loss, not mine, I have no time for superficial plastic people.

    I could go out into the world being a bitter, catty, bitch, but I have better things to do with my time.

    We know we all have our preferences when it comes to who we wish to partner ourselves with, but, it should not come at the exclusion of all others.

    In my younger days I dated someone who couldn’t pass a mirror without stopping to admire himself. His reputation was built on body and package size. Unfortunately he was socially developmentally stunted beyond that. After that experience, I was glad to be “average” 🙂

    As for those who feel free to pass comment on those who don’t fit the “ideal”… they should really ask their waiter for an extra pickle, as the one already up their ass is lonely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

