Today I am a Star!

May 10, 2007 at 12:02 am 4 comments

Tonight at the library we were invaded by grade school children.  They had activities planned and everybody signed up for the Summer Reading Club.

And we had a live action story.  Falling For Rapunzel. Complete with Rapunzel, a tower and a prince.

I was that prince.

I had a crown. I had a cape.  I got to ham it up.  I would call out to Rapunzel and she would mishear what I was saying.  She threw underwear and dirty socks at me.   She tossed out a canaloupe.  She threw out pancake batter  (well, confetti pretending to be pancake batter).   And the kids laughed.

Kids really accept you for who you are. Kids like you to be silly. They love you to be goofy.  They love being kids and having a good time.  They appreciate amateur theatrics and storytelling.  They appreciate the little things that we do.

It is what makes it fun to be a librarian.  I love my job.

And tonight, I got to be a star.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My internet is wonky. Dewey Tackles the Edgars…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  May 10, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    You are a shimmering star in the library firmament! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Bunny Lynn Boofay  |  May 11, 2007 at 4:42 am

    One of my most fav-o-rite “stage” experiances was in high school. I played the “Duke” in a version of Cinderella in for a grade school audience. It was part of a special project we did for English class. The kids were so mush fun and really got into the play. Of course, I had the most awsome costume, even though I had the smallest part. A true shadow of things to come…

    Reply
  • 3. Debbi  |  May 11, 2007 at 5:11 am

    Doug, that is so cool. I’m glad you had a good time.

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  May 11, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    That is awesome! And you’re right about kids…they are open to things and not so jaded and closed-minded. If only we could learn to be that way throughout our lives.

    Congrats on the show!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

