A Change in the Works…

May 17, 2007 at 11:39 pm 4 comments

Not a big change.   A minor change. A blip, as it were.

 I have to change the scope of my reading in the upcoming months.  I have joined a committee at work, and I will be reading kids books and picking the best of the best for 2007.  My group focuses on books for the 8 to 10 crowd, elementary school age.  I am very excited and honored to be on the committee.

I have done the committee before. Just last year I was helping to pick the best picture books of 2006.  I am a natural, because I love to read.  And I love to read everything and anything, I just have to change my reading style to keep up with all the reading I will be doing.

I will probably have to read over 120 books between now and December.  We meet monthly, talk about the books we have read and vote on them.  At the end of the year we have a list we can share with librarians to help them read books that kids will like.  Then we can give them to the kids, and make the kids happy.

My first book, The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, is very good so far.  It is a monster of a book, almost 500 pages long!   I don’t think I read mysteries with that many pages!  But it will keep me out of trouble.

So look for reviews to give your younger relatives.  And if I can slip in an adult book here and there, I will give it a try. With all the reading I do, that should not be a problem. 

Looks like Chris is going to be a book widow for another year…

Entry filed under: books.

Dewey: The Interview Aaaaah Rhapsody

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    He’ll probably just torture you with horror movies! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  May 18, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    A 500-page book for a 10-year-old? Wow.

    You sound like the perfect person to be on this committee, as you read so much, and you provide excellent, in-depth book reviews. Good for you!

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. Sparky  |  May 19, 2007 at 5:11 am

    WAH! I want to play! How do I get on the committee? I can be an absentee reader.

    Reply
  • 4. Liits  |  May 19, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Do not, whatever you do, recomend any of the Harry Potter piles of shite! Badly written, crap story etc, etc.
    A far better book but in the same type of story is The Weirdstone Of Brazingamen by Alan Garner. It’s based on a legend is is a cracking read [although designed for 12 year olds]. Another one is the classic Stig Of The Dump [Clive King]. I can, and do, read both time and time again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

