The Day We Lost Verizon…

May 24, 2007 at 10:40 pm 7 comments

My posting might become a bit sporadic.

Chris forgot to pay the verizon bill.   We use verizon for our DSL.  I think it is also attached to a phone line, but Chris and I use our cell phones exclusively and never use the land line.  I don’t think I even know what phone number we have.

So, the verizon line was cut off, as well as our DSL.   And, in order to reinstate the DSL they have to reinstate the phone line and there is a waiting list and they cannot get us back online until June.

Luckily, Chris can also use his cell phone as a dial up, but it is quite slow.  So I will be borrowing his cell dial up from time to time in order to post and hopefully be able to comment on blogs.  But if it does become sporadic, never fear.  I will be up and running soon.

In other tragic news, Baltimore Gas and Electric are raising their rates again, another 50%.  We can hardly pay our electric bill now.  I can only imagine what it will be like if it gets more expensive.   We will probably be sitting in the dark.  We won’t be able to cook, because the stove is electric.   I am seriously considering moving to a cheaper state.  Maryland is becoming far too expensive.  But I guess it is expensive all over.   Much to expensive for a little ole’ librarian to survive.

At least we have a sofa at work and if I get too cold, I can come here and crash.  And we have plenty of books and a little kitchenette.  I could move in!  The only thing missing is a shower.   I wonder if I could bring my dog…

I hope all of you my dear friends are managing to pay all your bills as well.  With the increase in gas, many of us will have to cut vacations short and stay home.  Can’t travel too far if you can’t fill up your tank.  It is up to $3.15 a gallon.  I spent $40.00 filling up the tank today. Luckily I don’t live too far from work.   Living in the city is nice because we have so much available to us within easy reach.  I can even walk to the grocery store.  

I wonder if I could bike to work?   I would have to travel on some busy roads, and would most likely become a dewey pancake.   And I would have to get up really early.  And, I am in no shape whatever to actually bike to work.  But it is a good thought.   I think I will trade my car in for a hybrid next time.

Ah well.

So, are you doing anything with the upcoming three day weekend? I work on Saturday, so it is really a two day weekend with Friday off as well.  Going out to breakfast with a friend tomorrow morning.   Don’t have any plans for Monday. I will keep you posted.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wednesday Blahs… Heat, ect.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  May 24, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    I think that you guys seriously need to start thinking about re-locating. Seriously…

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  May 25, 2007 at 12:42 am

    Yikes, that is crappy service if they can’t get you connected again until June! Talk about, “Hello, complaint department!”

    A hybrid or a diesel is a good idea. I drive a 2003 Golf Diesel, and I get about 41mpg, and diesel is less expensive than regular gas now, too (though that fluctuates). I paid $2.89 last time I filled up.

    That’s amazing that the electric company is allowed to raise their rates 50%. That’s a huge increase. I hope you’re able to keep the lights on.

    *hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. Jim  |  May 25, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Customer service seems to have gone the way of the dodo.

    Amazing how companies, particularly the utilities, regularly bend us over and give it to us hard.

    Thankfully the utilities up here are government-regulated.

    But, if you convert litres to gallons, and canuck bucks to US dollars, gas here is about $5 a gallon currently. We just don’t wander that far anymore. Luckily the grocery store is literally across the street. Otherwise, we entertain ourselves at home.

    Sounds like it is time to relocate.

    Reply
  • 4. Debbi  |  May 25, 2007 at 5:21 am

    I know what you mean about the landline. Only time we use it is if the power goes out and I have to use a landline to call them.

    Our electric company raised our rates this past winter too, and boy did it hurt. The first month it went from the usual 125 to over 300. That is just insane.

    Reply
  • 5. Kev in NZ  |  May 26, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Hey
    We dont have a 3 day weekend here which is a shame but we do next weekend for ‘Queens Birthday’

    Electric bills can get pretty expensive. They went up here last year but i still dont think they are as expensive in many other countries. Much of NZ’s power comes from the hydro dams and i think they are getting a bit worried because the water levels are low for the time of year. The good news is, is that we are going into winter so there should be snowfall on the mountains which will fill up the lakes and thus give us power.

    I hope your connections to phones is not too seriously interupted. If you dont post for a while then i’ll know why.

    Petrol prices here have gone stupid too. I think it’s a worldwide phenomenon. We are currently at about US$0.80 a litre at the moment. I do a lot of walking now and i bike along the cycle paths to work. A lot of people still use their cars though.

    Hoping you have a good warm weekend.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 6. urspo  |  May 27, 2007 at 3:47 am

    i was sorry to hear about your struggles with your bills.
    I am on call this weekend; so no big news here.

    Reply
  • 7. john  |  May 28, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Hey Doug Darlin’

    Gas here on the Central Coast is 3.50$ a gallon for the cheep stuff. An’ has been for some time. Luckily it ain’t too hot or too cold so my energy bill is usually pretty low. It’s the rent that will kill you! I’m real fortunate to have fabulous deal on my lil’ piece of Paradise, or I’d be livin’ on the street.

    Huggs, etc…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

