Spinning around

May 31, 2007 at 10:57 pm 5 comments

Tonight, my head is spinning.

 I have been reading like mad to finish some of the books I need to read for my committee.  I started the day with Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R.L. LaFevers which is surprisingly good and one that I really enjoyed.

Then I moved on to the Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick that I found to be a little on the boring side and am not sure what type of kid I could really give this book to.

The next on my list is Hitler’s Canary by Sandi Toksvig about the effect of Hitler on Denmark.   I am reading quite a variety!

At the same time I am listening to Sparkling Cyanide by Agatha Christie in the car.  I just finished Cover Her Face by P.D. James  (also in the car)  and that was quite good. I hope I don’t get the characters mixed up with those in the Christie, having gone directly from one to the other in record time.

I hope to start the Orkney Scroll by Lyn Hamilton this weekend.  This is just a light mystery featuring an antiques dealer and a Scottish scroll that goes missing.   I have both Saturday and Sunday off, so I should have some time to get some chapters in.

And, I have not forgotten about my quest to read the Edgar Award winners.  I bought The Hours Before Dawn by Celia Fremlin and the Light of Day by Eric Ambler.  The Light of Day is the novel that the film Topkapi is based on, and I just LOVE Topkapi.  Truly one of the greatest films of the seventies.   It is one that I watch quite frequently.

Subsequently, my eyes are getting very heavy and tired.  But, having finished the two childrens books I am off to a good start on my reading for the committee.  And, it is work I love to do.

 And, with every day we get closer to Friday!  Tomorrow I have to visit a fifth grade and sign up kids for the summer reading club.  Because our branch is under construction, we don’t have the room to set up a table in our mini library so we are heading off to the schools to try and drum up some interest.   I don’t mind the summer reading club but it usually is a lot of work and I am just as happy when the darn thing is over.  This year we are Reading Across America.  We have some nifty little prizes to give out, including a rather strange squishy ball that is somewhat obscene.  I have one living on my desk. I have named him sticky.  He is currently fighting a little Spiderman, and I am not sure just who is winning.  It is amazing that I get anything done!

But, I will not be alone at the school. I think three of us are going so I should be well protected.  And I can deliver my prepared speech, get the kids to fill out the required cards and get back to the branch in one piece.

So, make sure that you, my faithful readers, get out to your local library and sign up for your summer reading club.  You can pretend you are signing up for a nephew or a niece. Trust me.  And you can get some nifty plastic thingamabob to take home.  And, you have to read more books over the summer. What is not to like?

Entry filed under: books.

So many books… Weekend Update

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jim  |  June 1, 2007 at 3:38 am

    Oooooohhh…I love P.D. James’ books. I have a few favourite authors whose sites I check regularly to see if they have new books coming up. There is a new author in Toronto who has been writing mystery/crime books with stories based in and around the city. It’s pretty neat, as you can picture the location and really get engrossed in the story. I’ll have to dig around in the pile of to be read books that I have already finished (and are waiting for Mom to read before they get passed along to my sister) and find the name of the author and her books so far.

    Have you read any of the Inspector Morse books? It was always fun to try and spot the author in the dramatizations done by the BBC with John Thaw.

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  June 1, 2007 at 3:51 am

    i like to read old science fiction in the summer time.

    Reply
  • 3. tony  |  June 1, 2007 at 6:01 am

    Oh my “D,” my head is ‘awhirl!’ I could never read that many books. I’m envious.

    Reply
  • 4. tigeryogi  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    I have the “new” J.R.R. Tolkien novel on my nightstand waiting for me, and also a stack of Michael Thomas Ford novels that the Hubby adored, so I’m pretty much set for my summer reading too!

    Reply
  • 5. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  June 1, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I hope that the Sany Toksvig book is ok. She was on TV here quite a bit [many moons ago] She was supposedly a comedienne. Not only was she not funny but she almost instantly turned into a proffessional lesbian.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

