Weekend Update

June 3, 2007 at 12:34 am 4 comments

All I can say is Hot Hot Hot.

The house is so hot it is getting unbearable.  I really dislike summer.  I much prefer it to be cool and would rather have it be like spring or fall all year round.  But the temperature increases and I just have to find a way to deal.  I have been drinking gallons of iced tea.  It has been helping.

I am reading a novel set in the Orkney Islands in Scotland, and boy, do I want to go there!  They have standing stones and these Neolithic tombs.  I have been searching on Google for images and it looks really lush and green and very interesting.  And, being in the North, it should be cool most of the time.  I wonder if I will ever get there?   There are so many places I would like to get out and see.   Most of them are in Europe, and I really hope I can cross the Atlantic someday.  It is a dream that I carry with me.

If I did get to the Orkney Islands I probably could travel South and get to Glasgow.  That would be fun too.  Chris is threatening a trip to Ireland on his 40th birthday.   Apparently his mother tries to go every year (but she hasn’t asked him to go with her once)  and she knows some small bed and breakfasts that are nice and off the beaten path.   I tend to be the planner in the family, so if anybody can plan a trip like this, it would be me! I guess I should get started.  Maybe call around for some travel guides and brochures.  It would give me something to do.

Other than that, this weekend has been really boring.   We might go out and hit a flea market tomorrow.  But the flea market that we know how to get to is really very sad and has the worst stuff imaginable.  You can’t find any treasures there, just piles and piles of junk.   Once we went and found someone selling burned CD’s.  I thought they were legit and bought one and when I got to the car I discovered that the cover was definitely done on a printer and it was a fake.  So I called them in and I think the feds came and got them because they weren’t there after that.   Don’t mess with me. I will do my civic duty every time!

But every other time we have gone to the flea market we haven’t discovered anything remotely useful.   I wish we had a better one nearby, but alas.   And, you have to get there pretty freakin’ early because it is outdoors and once it gets hot… well, you know that story already.

Hope you are having the time of your life!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Spinning around Lunch on the Go

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  June 3, 2007 at 5:28 am

    please find some ways to keep cool.

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  June 3, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Well D, if it’s HOT, HOT, HOT, then get NAKED, NAKED, NAKED! Be freeeeeeeeeeeeee! LOL. Hey it does cool you down but then again things could possibly heat up more with your HANDSOME, if your not too careful.

    Reply
  • 3. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  June 3, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Ireland, hmmm. The “South” / republic [Eire, to give it its formal name] is like a trip back to the 1950’s. The North, the bit that is still governed by the UK, is a grand place. As to the highlands and islands of Scotland, see if you can find any books by Lillian Beckwith [The Hills Is Lonley, The Sea For Breakfast, The Loud Hello + many more]. Very funny, very discriptive.

    Reply
  • 4. Jim  |  June 4, 2007 at 9:27 am

    You could always practice now and wear a kilt… could be cooler than trousers 🙂

    Thankfully the building got the new a/c unit up and running before it got really stinkin’ hot up here. The air has been horrid, smog alerts for days, the kind where you have to chew your air before you can breathe it.

    Time for walking about at home in your knickers!

    Keep cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

