Lunch on the Go

June 5, 2007 at 12:34 am 8 comments

Poor me.

I forgot to bring  my lunch to work with me today.

I had two dollars and no desire to leave the branch and go anywhere. 

I was at the mercy of the snack machine.

Luckily, they had pop tarts. Did you know that pop tarts have 7 vitamins and minerals? It said so, right there on the package. Of course, I did not read the back to find out what minerals they were.  Strangely, I didn’t feel more energetic after having eaten them.  But they got me through the day.

Then, at about 3:00 I was starving so I ate a rice crispy treat.  (I know, you would think we would have better choices in the snack machine).  I could have had pretzels, I suppose, or nuts.  They would have been the best choice.  The rest of the stuff was crap.

After that I still had 55 cents for a caffeine free coke.  It is no wonder I was feeling queasy by the end of the day.

I definately will remember to pack my lunch in the future.  This lunch on the go is a terrible idea!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekend Update Goldfrapp

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:22 am

    pop tarts!
    we loved them when we were children
    I think the last time I had one was college, 20 years ago
    I wonder if they still taste the same?
    I must look next time I am at Fry’s.

    Reply
  • 2. Chrs (Doug's Partner)  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:52 am

    I did the same damn thing and I, too, had a whopping two dollars. Fortunately, my coworker has eyes bigger than her stomach and I was able to buy half of her tuna sub for $2. Yay!

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:27 am

    I’ve had days like that too…
    Tomorrow will be better : )

    Blessings,
    Coco

    Reply
  • 4. Jim  |  June 5, 2007 at 5:32 am

    hmmm… vending machine cuisine…

    I recall those days, working late at night, nothing is open around you, and all there is are the vending machines. I swear I gained 20 pounds the years I worked in that one place. Too many M&Ms!

    Maybe time to keep some munchies in your desk drawer?

    Reply
  • 5. Tony  |  June 5, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Yikes …it was all those sugars sending you crashing at the end of the day. Now pack that lunch young man! LOL

    Reply
  • 6. tigeryogi  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Yes, please remember to pack a lunch the next time. Pop Tarts have enough preservatives in them to last forever! And you don’t want that inside you!

    Reply
  • 7. Rian  |  June 7, 2007 at 8:38 am

    When I read this, I’m really glad that all vending machines, and also the staff canteen work cashless. You just swipe your badge. And without your badge you wouldn’t even be able to enter the site, so you never forget it.

    Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  June 7, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    I do this entirely too often. So, I have recently become a lunch whore. I prey on the old guy down the hall. He enjoys my company and is always more than happy to buy me a sandwich if I listen to him talk incessantly for 45 minutes straight. So, if I can’t stand the idea of a rice krispie treat or a bag of chips, I ask him what he’s doing for lunch. I know, it’s absolutely horrible….. But before you have me hung in the town square, I do return the favor and buy him lunch the next time (when I have actual money in my wallet!). I keep a mental tab to ensure equity. I would hate to be indebted to him for more than a week or two!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

