Learning Something New

June 9, 2007 at 3:34 pm 2 comments

First, here is the video for Rihanna’s Umbrella.   I am so into this song.  

As you can see, the look of the blog has changed.  I have been playing around with it and think I have found something I am comofortable with.

I also learned something new.  Something called a mashup.  It allows me to take a picture that had been uploaded to Flickr and stretch it to make my very own banner.  So, the new banner for the Dartboard is actually a pic I took in the Caribbean last year.  Nifty.

The library I work for has this new initiative called 23 things.   It is all about new technology and it is a self paced program that uses video feeds and podcasts to train you on some new uses of the Internet.   Some of the stuff I know how to do (like setting up a blog and using picture sharing software)  but some of the technology is new to me (I will be learning about RSS and how to set up my very own newsreader).

It is a nine week program but I am vaulting along at a fast pace.   There is so much to learn and you are never too old.

The weekend is going to be Hot Hot Hot.    A few blocks away is the Honfest with the Baltimore Hons and music and food and fun and if it is not too hot I might travel up there to see what is going on.  It used to be only on Saturday but I think it runs for two days now, so I have time.

Chris and I got up early and went to breakfast.   Delicious.   Now I am full and happy.

I hope you have a great weekend planned.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Pedestrian The Progress of a Crime

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug  |  June 10, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Love the new banner pic!

    And it’s great the library is giving you the opportunity and direction to learn about new technologies. I’m glad you’re able to take advantage of it.

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. Sparky  |  June 10, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    OH! I love that new Rihanna song too! And I love the new look. It’s perfect for summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

