Trouble Spots.

June 12, 2007 at 12:21 am 6 comments

Things are not great at the House of Dewey as of late.  I have been trying to keep the blog positive and not worry about life in general, but sometimes life catches up with you.

My mom is six hours away in Edinboro PA, and I really can’t see her all that frequently.  Recently she tore her rotator cuff and is currently at home in a sling.   The rotator cuff has something to do with her shoulder.  She had been in a bit of pain, but since the operation she has been doing much better.   But she has been unable to drive and left at the mercy of my sister.

I know I have mentioned my sister before on the blog.   She is about 37 years old and can’t really hold down a job.  They are trying to get her on disability because of her manic depression, but so far this has not worked.  My mother is pretty much footing the bill for her very existence.  And my sister is not the most helpful of children.  You would think that she would at least try and help my mother clean or cook dinner or something, but the only time I was told that she helped with the dinner, she burned the food.

My mother has been sleeping on the sofa downstairs so that she can remain in the same position at night and not jostle her shoulder.  But she has been sounding fine on the phone and I think she is improving, though she will be in the sling for a few more weeks.

I am going to travel up to see her over the Fourth of July and I will be spending a week with her and my sister.

But last night my mother called and told me that my sister has found a lump on her breast and it looks “suspicious”.  She is going to have a biopsy done and will know in seven days what it may be.  I am really dreading the fact that it might be cancer. 

With my mother in the sling and getting older, she is not in a position to take care of my sister if she has cancer.   She also doesn’t have extra money and I am not sure what kind of insurance my sister carries.  I think she has some kind of card supported by the state. 

I have a good amount of vacation but not enough that I can get to visit more than about three times a year.  So I am feeling pretty darn helpless right now.

My mother had breast cancer a few years ago and she caught it early and was able to get the treatment she needed and was fine, but the thought of my sister having it scares me.

My sister had a drug and alcohol problem and smokes cigarettes so she has the cards stacked against her.

And really, my mother and my sister are all I have.  I don’t really talk to anyone else in my family.  It is not that I have anything against them, or them me, I just don’t know what to say when I talk to them.  It just seems that we suffered so much in my family it is hard for me to talk about light things with any of them.  And I can’t bring up all the shit we have gone through because I don’t want to remind them of it.  Guess I am between a rock and a hard place.

But things just seem to go wrong and we go from bad to worse. 

Thanks for listening and I will be sure to fill you in if I find out anything more.  It really means a lot to me that I have you, my blogging friends, to talk to.   You really are  a wonderful bunch.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Progress of a Crime The Good, the bad, the depressed.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  June 12, 2007 at 3:03 am

    I hope that everything works out alright. You and yours will be, as always, in my thoughts and prayers… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  June 12, 2007 at 3:23 am

    it sometimes help to write all this out
    it is nice to know people support you from afar and can share your sorrows
    hang in there.

    Reply
  • 3. Jim  |  June 12, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Just letting you know I’m just an e-mail away…

    Will keep you in my thoughts until everything gets sorted out.

    You’re right, I’ve met some amazing people in the blogging world, and you’re one of them 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  June 12, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Oh Doug, you’ve got my hopes for the best.

    Reply
  • 5. johnmichael42003  |  June 12, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Your poor mother. I’ll keep her in my thoughts and prayers.

    Don’t worry about what you write in your blog. It’s your blog and you are allowed to vent.

    Reply
  • 6. Coco  |  June 13, 2007 at 5:01 am

    I hope that your mother feels better SOON! I, too, had a rotator cuff surgery…it wasn’t fun.
    As for your sister, I’m praying that it’s nothing major…maybe it’s just a little cyst or fibroid…nothing serious. But am glad that she’s having it “checked”.

    Praying for you and your loved ones…
    Take Care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

