The Dewey Who Is Not Dewey

June 21, 2007 at 9:22 pm 7 comments

I have to make a confession.

I have become obsessed. 

It is hard for me to go on-line to blog or read my favorite blogs.   Because every time I turn on my laptop I have to feed my obsession.

You see, I have created an avatar in Second Life.

Second Life is amazing.  You create an avatar who is you, but not you.   The avatar can do amazing things like dance and even fly.  And the avatar can teleport all over this amazing world and see all sorts of new and amazing things.

Do you know that over 7 million people have avatars in Second Life?  And when you play, many of these people are playing as well.   And you can run into them and talk to them.   (or not talk to them if you are shy, like me).

You can be human.  You can be a furry animal type person. You can be a vampire.  You can be anything that you want to be.

And you can travel.  You can go to virtual Rome and discover that everyone around you is speaking in Italian.   You can find some amazing gardens and wander through plants and trees.  You can visit a busy nightclub,  or ride in a hot air balloon.  You can even visit an abandoned asylum.   You can find a virtual mall, and buy money you can use to buy clothing for your character.    I even stopped in a Buddhist temple.  It was lovely.  It is great fun.

And, the best thing is that Second Life is FREE!  You can create an avatar for free and enter the world immediately.  You start at Orientation Island and have to complete some tasks to move on.  Then you can head over to Help Island for just a taste of what is to come.  

And I even found an island dedicated to libraries.    Just awesome.   So, if you wonder where I am, I could be anywhere.  Virtually, of course.  I have a whole other existence now.   Hope to see you there!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ah Summer Does that roach cost extra?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urspo  |  June 22, 2007 at 2:52 am

    hohoho
    i find it hard enough just being me, so I wish people luck in being others as well!

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  June 22, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I’ve never explored Second Life. I will have to check it out!

    Reply
  • 3. Coco  |  June 22, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    I want a “Second Life”!! : )
    Hmm, a new me…
    Sounds like fun : )
    I’ll have to check it out…thanks for the info.

    Blessings.

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  June 22, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I’d heard about Second Life. Being a recovering World of Warcraft addict, I thought it best if I were to avoid SL. I don’t get out enough as it is.

    Reply
  • 5. Jim  |  June 23, 2007 at 4:50 am

    So that’s where you’ve been!

    Reply
  • 6. Chris (Doug's Partner)  |  June 23, 2007 at 11:29 am

    I get similarly obsessed with Sacred. And I can’t wait to get Sacred II when it comes out!

    Reply
  • 7. Kev in NZ  |  June 24, 2007 at 2:13 am

    That site sounds really fun…and addictive!

    Im glad summer has arrived where you are and i hope you are getting to enjoy a bit of the sun.

    Wishing you a great weekend doug,
    Kev in nz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

