Pieces of Eight

June 25, 2007 at 12:43 am 4 comments

Thanks to Tiger Yogi,  I have to come up with eight pieces of information about myself. Preferably, things that you don’t already know.   I will do my best.

1.  I love breakfast food.  I can eat breakfast food all day.  I especially like things that have southwestern sauces, even in the morning.   Huevos rancheros anyone?  

2.  I am deathly afraid of things that have stingers.  I am not allergic or anything, just afraid of being stung.  I wave my hands around and squeal.  It is quite amusing.   I also don’t like eating insects.  Read on for more on that…

3.  I have never, nor will I ever, wear a speedo.  You couldn’t get my fat ass into one anyway.  (will saying “ass” give me a pg rating? )

4.  I had a hampster named Toby when I was a boy.   When Toby died, I think it was one of the most traumatic experiences I had in my young life.  I had to bury him in the woods in a shoe box.   I hadn’t had the courage to get another pet until my birds, Ariel and Horatio.

5.  Ariel and Horatio (named from Shakespeare plays, of course)  were parakeets.    After owning them for awhile, I realized I really don’t like caged birds.  Ariel spent all her time pecking and tormenting Horatio.  I eventually had to get a second cage and seperate them.    Horatio died anyway.  Ariel would screech to high heaven all all hours and throw seed all over the carpeting.   I much prefer dogs and cats, thank you very much.

6.  I lived in Memphis Tennessee for three years right after I got my Masters degree.  I wanted to live someplace new.  I applied for a job, having never actually been to Memphis and was hired.  So I moved.  One of the bravest things I have ever done.  And I really liked Memphis.  The only thing I didn’t like was that it was in the middle of nowhere, and there really weren’t a lot of places to go cheaply to get out of the city.  I much prefer Baltimore with the day trips to New York.

7.  I can’t stand commercials.   I can’t even stand the idea of them.  I think this is why I have cable.   When I get home from work, I really don’t want to be bombarded with people trying to sell me detergent.  And commercials are just getting louder and more annoying.   I really pity people that have to work in the advertising industry.   What a bunch of blood suckers.

8. I just had a snowball tonight.  Snowballs are a Baltimore thing. Shaved ice with flavor.  When I moved to Baltimore, Chris took me out to get a snowball and I just hated it.  Maybe I got the wrong flavor but it took several tries before I found one I liked.  Now I just love them.   I got a strawberry margarita one.  Yum.  If you come to Baltimore for a visit, I will be sure to take you to get one!

That’s all.  Everybody I know has already been tagged, so I am not tagging anyone.  But if you haven’t been tagged and want to play, please do!  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Does that roach cost extra? I Love Egg!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  June 25, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Aren’t snowballs the same thing as sno-cones? After you suck all the juice out, all that’s left is ice! Where’s the fun in that?!!

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  June 26, 2007 at 4:37 am

    i think snowballs sound delicious!

    Reply
  • 3. Doug  |  June 26, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    I, too, flail around and make embarrassing noises when a stinging insect is near, though I’ve gotten better in recent years about containing myself.

    And commercials and I are like oil and water. I use Tivo religiously (probably the only religious thing I do).

    Reply
  • 4. Jim  |  June 28, 2007 at 6:46 am

    I don’t think they have come up with the kind of plastic surgery that could ever get me into a speedo 🙂

    But the snowball sounded yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

