Family Stuff

June 28, 2007 at 11:07 am 4 comments

Just to let you know…

I will be visiting my mom and sister next week so I will probably not be able to do a lot of blogging.  (or blog reading for that matter).   I will try to hop on to my mom’s computer with updates if I can.

Things are going OK.  My sister found out that they just have to remove the quarter sized lump from her breast and that it is not attached to anything so that is a good sign.   She has her surgery today in Pittsburgh.  I offered to take off and head up there early in order to drive them but my mom said everything should be OK.  They are returning to Edinboro on Saturday and I will meet up with them then.

So, as my mother recovers from rotator cuff surgery and my sister recovers from surgery, this will prove to be a fun week!  I have a few books picked out to read while I am there.

Incidentally,   I have checked out a few Rex Stout Nero Wolf books on CD.  Have you ever read Rex Stout?  I am on my first one,  “And to be a villain”  and it is pretty awesome.   Somebody drank some cyanide.    It must have been easier to get cyanide in the forties.  I am not sure how you would go about getting it now.   I read the news, but nobody seems to ever get bumped off by the “classic” poisons.    Maybe they never really did. Maybe it was all a figment of a writer’s imagination.

Back to my family.

I was really worried yesterday and really felt like crying at work, so I left at 3:00.   I know there is nothing I can do, and I really shouldn’t worry but worrying is part of my character, so I do.   I am not so worried today.   And I only have two more days of work before I can go and see my family and find out what is going on.

Do you ever feel helpless?  Like you have been put into a situation, and you can’t think of anything that you can really do to be of assistance,  aside from flailing your arms and spending too much time brooding.

Well, enough of the brooding.   I think I might have to watch the “egg song” again.   That will cheer me up! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Love Egg! Cell phones and vacations

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  June 28, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Yes, you need to lift your spirits!

    Listen to that crazy egg song all day! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Doug  |  June 29, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    One of the worst feelings for me is helplessness. I tend to want to hit something when I feel that way, so I go play tennis or workout at the gym.

    I hope everything goes well with your sister’s surgery. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. Tony  |  June 29, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Seems as if we all are getting slammed with something these days, whether it is a loved one battling an illness, struggling ourselves, etc. Hang in there bud…it all works its way out in the longrun. Enjoy what time you do have with family even if its not ‘typical’ time. Hugs

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  June 29, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    sure, lots of times (feeling helpless)
    then, I find it helpful to sit back and think ‘where have all my energies gone to?” and call back them. then, I focus on not ‘why is this happening to me?” but ‘what do I need to do to get through this?”
    sometimes a prayer of

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

