Cell phones and vacations

June 30, 2007 at 12:51 am 10 comments

What is the point of my mother having a cell phone if she never turns it on?

I have tried to call her and get her voice mail.  I know she is in Pittsburgh and it is around nine o’clock at night and I want to know more about how my sister is doing.  Would it be too much to ask of that woman to turn on her phone?

She did leave a message and told me that things were good.

The only minor snag is that they still have to check her lymph nodes.

They are going to do this on Monday, while I am there.   So I will be there if there is any more bad news.

It will surround me.

I tend to avoid bad things.  Sometimes I don’t answer the phone. I don’t answer the door.   I try to avoid situations in which someone will give me bad news.   I throw myself into a novel and stay buried in it to avoid any unpleasantness.

Did I tell you that I already have four novels packed?   I am ready to go!

But seriously, I am worried.   I know that there is nothing I can do, but I am worried.

I really wanted this to be a good week off.  Maybe some of it will be.   I will try to check in and let you know.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Family Stuff Updates, pets, other things.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  June 30, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Hon, try not to worry and have a safe trip! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. eric  |  June 30, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Hey, I added you to my blogroll. Could you take a look and see if my site is worthy to be on your roll? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jim  |  July 1, 2007 at 5:20 am

    Doug,

    Have a safe trip, enjoy your family, and we’ll be your designated worriers while you’re away, so you can relax. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. urspo  |  July 1, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    my father doesn’t keep on his cell phone either -it is a generationaly thing I think – they don’t want to waste energy and they suspect people still wil call them on the real phone.

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  July 1, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    I hope you are doing well (and that your worries will be alleviated!).

    Reply
  • 6. Kev in NZ  |  July 2, 2007 at 7:46 am

    I hope everything goes ok. Have a safe journey to your mum’s place.

    Cell phone’s are funny things. So popular nowadays.
    Kev in NZ

    Reply
  • 7. Doug  |  July 6, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    My mom does the same thing with her cell phone. No clue why.

    I hope all went well. Thinking about your sister and you. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 8. Coco  |  July 6, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Just stopping by to see how things are going…
    Have a safe trip.
    Praying that ALL is well with your mom and sister…

    Blessings.

    Reply
  • 9. Lyndon  |  July 7, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Hi Doug,
    Jim was telling me (via his blog) about your sister. The only advice I can give is all of this is in God’s Hands. While your sister and the doctors can do a lot, faith can also help, if not with the physical, at least the spirit.
    Your sister and family are going into a not so easy time. Just try to keep your head on straight and be there for your sister and family as they and your friends will be for you.
    I will (and I’m sure a great many others will also) pray for your sister and you and your family.
    Go in Peace my friend. The Good Lord looks down on you and your family from high above in His Rainbow Kingdom.
    Lyndon from LGBT Rainbow Links

    Reply
  • 10. Jules  |  July 8, 2007 at 3:02 am

    Hi Doug… I read about your sister through Jim’s blog and wanted to offer some (HUGS) and words of support. The treatments are hard, I’ve had family who’ve gone through it, but the best thing you can do is be there to talk with her and know she’s loved and just support her.

    I don’t know you, but I feel like you have the strength to help her get through this. If nothing else, just wrap your arms around her and show her you’re not going anywhere.

    Love Jules

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

