Iced Lattes, cheeseburgers and my underpants.

July 12, 2007 at 10:43 pm 7 comments

You can tell what kind of state I am in.

This afternoon I went to the bathroom and realized I had put  my underwear on backwards.  I am just not thinking correctly!

As you know, I have been trying to give up red meat and pork, and was doing really well until the situatioin happened.  You see, some people grab a bottle of gin or a beer or wine when they get depressed.  Not me.  I want a cheeseburger.   A McDonald’s cheeseburger of all things.   I go through the drive through and get two. I don’t bother with the fries.  Just want the cheeseburger.  Somehow it makes me feel better.  At least for a half an hour or so.  I guess we all have our addictions.  

And they have iced coffee at McDonald’s.  And they are cheap.  What more could you want?

I am back at work.  I noticed that I am really clenching my jaw all day.  I am aware that I am doing it, but I can’t stop.  It is also hard for me to talk to anybody.  I keep busy at my desk but sometimes I get distracted and my mind wanders.  I have to bring it back to the present.  I think my coworkers are not really sure what to say, if there is anything to say, so we don’t say anything. Maybe it is better that way.

I finally am listening to Tiger Yogi and called for an appointment with a therapist today.  I think I really do need someone to talk to.  Chris helps all he can but even he is not a professional.   A therapist will be good for me.  And maybe she can get me to go to a support group.    Maybe I can find some other people that are going through similar situations.

Who knows?

But, at least I am still blogging. You haven’t got rid of me yet.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

El Dewey’s Super Fun Depresso Blog Thoughts for a Monday

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tigeryogi  |  July 12, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Halleluia!!!

    And we don’t want to get rid of you!!

    You had better not go anywhere!!!

    I’m so glad that you’re getting some help Hon.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. urspo  |  July 13, 2007 at 2:05 am

    you are not alone that I too yearn for nasty greasy meat when I feel down and blue. Probably as it is off my usual menu and it is therefore a comfort food.
    Putting your knickers on backwards is a sign of good luck in Wales.

    Reply
  • 3. Lyndon  |  July 13, 2007 at 3:10 am

    Hi Dewey. I know life can get tough at times, and yes I’m sure you sometimes feel like your family is cursed. But many, many others have the trials and tribulations of life as you are having. It’s just very hard not to say, Lord have you not punished me enough, how many more hardships do you have in store for me? I wish I had a fast and hard solution to offer you, but I don’t, because we are all different and just like physical pain, some can stand more than others. If it helps you to seek counsel, then by all means do so. But don’t get to the point where you are “addicted” to it. I have always believed, for myself anyway, no one, regardless of good intent can solve my problems or help me get through rough circumstances but me. A circle of friends and/or family outweighs what a counsoler can do many times over. Over the past three years I have questioned, when is enough, enough. There have been times when I have had a good cry for myself, or I sit by myself and just think. Having read your recent postings I know of what is going on. It’s not easy I know, but things will be what they we be, and you just have to go with the flow of the River of Life. I wish there was more to say, but you just have to find the courage to pull up the boot straps and say screw it, try as Life will, it is not going to beat me down. And if it makes you feel any better, I’ve put my underwear on backwards once or twice myself. Go in Peace my friend. I believe you have more friends than you will ever know who are rooting and praying for you and your loved ones.

    Reply
  • 4. sortedlives  |  July 14, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I’m glad you decided on getting some help to work through your problems. Keep your chin up!!

    Reply
  • 5. Doug  |  July 15, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Hey Doug, I’m sending hugs and happy thoughts your way. I was so sorry to hear about your sister (and your cat on the same night). At least kitty is doing better. Hopefully that is an augury for your sister’s quick recovery.

    Reply
  • 6. Jim  |  July 16, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Doug,

    You reminded me of something someone sent me years ago for my 30th birthday… in the midst of the joke it said, you know you’re getting old when you put your underwear on backwards and they fit better.

    (you laughing yet?)

    Hope things are better than the day before.

    Reply
  • 7. Kev in NZ  |  July 16, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Doug
    Just be thankful you remembered to put your underwear on at all lol. A friend of mine forgot to wear any once…….good job he wasnt going shopping for new jeans!

    McDonalds cheeseburgers are great. I had one yesterday but i sneaked into burgerking today for one of theres today.

    Good to see you still blogging…dont you go anywhere!
    Hugs
    Kev in NZ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

