The Tired Camper

July 31, 2007 at 10:06 pm 9 comments

I think another reason I am late blogging is that I have been extremely tired.

Our library, as some of you know, has been under renovation.   So we were operating on a limited collection in a very small room.  It was cozy and peaceful.

Well, now the renovation is done.  We are out of control.  Everybody that missed us has come back and we are up and running in full service mode.

And that keeps us on our toes.  We need three librarians to man the information desk, and we often are there an hour to an hour and a half at a time.   And the entire time we are now busy.    By the end of the day, I just want to crawl into bed.  I am even having trouble reading because my brain hurts so much.

Being a librarian can be tough.  It is all about being social and using your brain.   You have to put the customer at ease and be helpful and efficient so you can get to the next customer.   By the end of the day, sometimes I want no more contact with any person whatsoever.  I have used up all my smiling muscles.  And I can’t form thoughts to put into words to fill my blog.

But, I would rather be busy because I really do get to help people, and that is what I like doing more than anything.  When you can find something for someone and get a smile, it makes my day.  And I get a lot of smiles.  So I must be doing something right.

So I will post what I can, when I can.   And I will even try to make sense!   I am just glad you are bearing with me.  Once the hot summer is over, I might get back to my old self. 

Hot again today.  Ugh.   When will it cool off?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sunday Sunday Heatstroke

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sidney Hound [liits]  |  July 31, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I’m bearing, and it’s worthwhile.

    Reply
  • 2. tigeryogi  |  July 31, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Blog when you can Hon! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Debbi  |  August 1, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Kudos to you. I really miss not having a library here. The nearest one to me is actually in another state. lol. About fifteen miles away and being from outside the state it would cost a fortune to get a card.
    You are doing a great job! hang in there.

    Reply
  • 4. Doug  |  August 1, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    I can understand how you’d be so exhausted after days like those. Don’t get down on yourself for that. I’m sure things will settle down once people get re-used to having your full services available.

    Reply
  • 5. urspo  |  August 1, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    hang in there dearie!

    Reply
  • 6. Coco  |  August 5, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    Hi!! : )
    I hope that you are feeling better : )
    Hot muggy days are awful, and they make you feel sluggish and tired…yuck!! I certainly do feel your pain… Hopefully, the weather will cool down a little.

    How is your sister and mom doing?

    Blessings.

    Reply
  • 7. diamondfistwerny  |  August 5, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    I’ve been exhausted too. I’m pretty sure it’s cuz of the mugginess!

    Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  August 6, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    It’s really REALLY hot today!

    Reply
  • 9. tigeryogi  |  August 9, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Hellooooo! Where are you Darlink?!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Doug Beatty's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Recent Posts

It’s Dewey!

Yahoo! Avatars

